Item added to your cart.

Live In Kalisz
Sun Ra Arkestra
Live In Kalisz
Lanquidity Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
January 2020
Gift This Product

It was one of the most peculiar landings of the Sun Ra Arkestra. Time: 7 December 1986, Polish People’s Republic, still separated from the West by the Iron Curtain. It's a grey and poor twilight of a real socialism era. In three years the Eastern Bloc would collapse, but what still occupies the minds of Poles now is mostly the martial law imposed by the Pro-Moscow regime in 1981, when the country wanted to free itself from the influence of the Soviet Union. Place: Kalisz, one of the oldest Polish cities dating back to the 10th century, historically connected with the first kings of Poland, grew into a multinational centre with time as not only the Czech Brethren escaping the Habsburg monarchy found refuge here, but also prominent rabbis known across Europe used to operate and expound in the local Jewish community. In the 20th century Kalisz became a provincial city and its presence in the cultural life of Poland was most significantly marked with the International Jazz Piano Festival. It was during the 13th edition of the festival that Sun Ra Arkestra performed. What turned out to be most memorable for the concert-goers was the closing procession of musicians who left the stage to walk around the audience, circle the venue, and return. Researchers of the Sun Ra mysticism recognized such gestures as rituals of passage corresponding to the cosmic cycles of death and resurrection. From a European perspective, Sun Ra's work turns out to be a dream come true for Wagner and Stockhausen. His music brought the myth to life. The myth connecting the past with the future – above the unfavourable present – which created a sphere of freedom. However, Ra used to say that it was not freedom that was at stake here, but precision and discipline.

Pre-order Information

We endeavour to ensure pre-orders reach you on the official release date. The date indicated above is the nearest possible delivery date according to the distributor, and is therefore liable to change at any time in accordance with changes made by the distributor.

  1. 1 Infinity Drum Intro / Discipline 27-II Sun Ra Arkestra 1:30
  2. 2 Children Of The Sun Sun Ra Arkestra 1:30
  3. 3 Improvised I Sun Ra Arkestra 1:30
  4. 4 Yeah Man! Sun Ra Arkestra 1:30
  5. 5 Improvised II Sun Ra Arkestra 1:30
  6. 6 Untitled Blues Sun Ra Arkestra 1:30
  7. 7 It'll Never Be The Same Sun Ra Arkestra 1:30
  8. 8 Prelude To A Kiss Sun Ra Arkestra 1:30
  9. 9 Mack The Knife Sun Ra Arkestra 1:30
  10. 10 Outro Sun Ra Arkestra 1:30

Sun Ra Arkestra

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.