Item added to your cart.

Red Snapper
Live at The Moth Club
Lo Recordings
Catalogue Number
Release Date
October 27, 2023
  • Vinyl 1×LP

    Read More


    • Reverse board colour sleeves

    This item is not in stock, but is available from our suppliers. Estimated shipping in 14 days.

    Stock on order, expected soon.

Press Release

Musical innovators, Red Snapper, have announced that they will release a new album on Lo Recordings on the 20th of October 2023.

‘Live at The Moth Club’, the follow up to 2022’s acclaimed ‘Everybody Is Somebody’ long player, features nine tracks from a vast and impressive back catalogue on Warp Records and Lo Recordings and captures perfectly the energy of their celebrated sold out London show from May 2022 in Hackney.

With an incredible and genre bursting career that spans nearly thirty years, the new album demonstrates the band’s ability to constantly rework classic and new tracks, keeping them impassioned, experimental and relevant. The collection includes a version of ‘Suckerpunch’ which originally appeared on their 1998 album ‘Making Bones’ and will now be released as a single on the 15th of September 2023.

Notorious for casting convention aside, and remaining one of the UK’s most forward thinking and rule breaking live bands, Red Snapper embrace a unique blend of live, euphoric Afro-Jazz, Future Funk, Dub, Dark Hip-Hop and fragile soundscapes.

Formed in 1994, the original line up of Rich Thair (drums), Ali Friend (double bass) and David Ayers (guitar) released three EPs on Rich Thair and Dean Thatcher’s label Flaw Recordings. The first EP ‘Snapper’ featured Beth Orton on vocals.

Over the initial years the band released the sonically pioneering albums; ‘Reeled and Skinned’, ‘Prince Blimey’, ‘Making Bones’ and ‘Our Aim Is To Satisfy Red Snapper’ (Warp records), touring globally and supporting the likes of Massive Attack, Bjork, The Prodigy, De La Soul and The Fugees. They also acquired a reputation for innovative and expansive remixing – reworking tunes by Trouble Funk, David Holmes, Sabres of Paradise, Garbage, Lamb, S-Express and Edwyn Collins amongst others.

Since then the band have released the eponymous ‘Red Snapper’ and ‘A Pale Blue Dot’ on Lo Recordings followed by ‘Key’ on V2 Records which featured the track ‘Spikey’ which was on the soundtrack for El Camino, the Netflix Breaking Bad film directed by Vince Gilligan in 2019.

In 2013 Red Snapper composed a new soundtrack to the 1970’s Senegalese, psychedelic road movie Touki Bouki which had been restored by Martin Scorsese. The band toured Europe performing the soundtrack live to the film, culminating in the celebrated sell-out show at The Queen Elizabeth Hall on London’s Southbank. In 2014 the album ‘Hyena’ was released on Lo Recordings featuring all the music from their original film score.

Track List

  1. The Sleepless (Live)
  2. Truth 1 (Live)
  3. Tremble (Live)
  4. Wonky Bikes (Live)
  5. Space Sickness (Live)
  6. B Planet (Live)
  7. Tarzan (Live)
  8. Hot Flush (Live)
  9. Suckerpunch (Live)

Red Snapper

View More

Red Snapper

Lo Recordings

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences