Item added to your cart.

Various Artists
A Collective Memoir
Urvakan Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
October 7, 2022

Press Release

This compilation is a research project commissioned by Urvakan with the support of the Goethe-Institut. It archives a selection of recordings contributed by some of the artists from post-Soviet countries who were meant to play at Urvakan 2020 - a festival that never really happened. The artists were asked to explore the idea of "collective memories" in sound by using aural techniques capable of evoking reminiscences in the subconsciouses of people from fairly different locations, but that are in some ways similar in their cultural codes. The submissions we received were not only inspiring, but also quite accurately fell in line with Urvakan's declared focus on "hauntological" music practices, referenced in the festival's name itself - "urvakan" is the Armenian word for ghost, phantom, or spirit.

Curated by Andrei Zailer Mastered by Flaty Artwork by Maziyar Pahlevan Produced by Sophie Porter and Nairi Simonian

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences