Item added to your cart.

His Name Is Alive
Return To Never (Home Recordings 1979-1986 Vol 2)
Catalogue Number
Release Date
February 28, 2020
  • Vinyl, 1×LP, Coloured Vinyl

    Read More
    • + WAV / FLAC


    • Clear Vinyl
    • Each side plays continuously
    • Colour reverse board outer
    • Printed inner sleeve with full liner notes.
    • Includes download card for the digital edition of the album which is 15 separate tracks

    In stock, shipping now.

Instant WAV / FLAC download with all Vinyl purchases.


Disciples are really doing right by fans of His Name Is Alive of late. After dropping the archival releases All The Mirrors In The House and the 6TEEN OK cassette, the label now deliver Return To Never, the follow-up to All The Mirrors… and the second of three compilations focussing on tracks made by the one born Warren Defever between 1979 and 1986. What we have here are formative works dating from Defever’s teenage years (sometimes even earlier). In these tracks - and the accompanying interview and inner-sleeve essay by My Bloody Valentine/Galaxie 500 chronicler Mike McGonigal - we see a young Defever honing the techniques that would serve him so well in the project’s successful later years.

Much of the record comprises beautiful greyscale drones and ambiences that often come doused in liberal amounts of tape hiss. This sound is particularly apparent in the first half of the album, and the manner in which one Basinski-esque vignette bleeds into another would have you think that these tracks were conceived together as a whole album rather than being the disparate bedroom experiments of an adolescent. Defever’s wide-ranging musical interests bring more variation into Return To Never as it goes on - the album’s back-third is more torrid, with an increasingly industrial/concrete flavour to the distorted tones and audio manipulations.

Those who dug Disciples’ His Name Is Alive drop All The Mirrors In The House should brace themselves for Return To Never, the latest set of late-70s/early- and mid-80s rarities to emerge from Warren Defever’s vaults.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Return To Never His Name Is Alive 4:38
  2. 2 Lake Night His Name Is Alive 2:53
  3. 3 Morning Machine His Name Is Alive 2:06
  4. 4 Early Version His Name Is Alive 4:15
  5. 5 Piano V His Name Is Alive 2:11
  6. 6 To Remember His Name Is Alive 2:45
  7. 7 My Thoughts Are To Thee Drawn His Name Is Alive 4:09
  8. 8 Guitar Echo His Name Is Alive 3:05 Buy
  9. 9 Forever Getting Lost His Name Is Alive 1:09
  10. 10 Chords His Name Is Alive 0:36
  11. 11 From The Night Tape His Name Is Alive 0:38
  12. 12 Descending His Name Is Alive 1:47
  13. 13 Last Thing Thought Of His Name Is Alive 3:15 Buy
  14. 14 Whitesnake His Name Is Alive 1:23
  15. 15 Gone His Name Is Alive 1:53
  • Return To Never (Home Recordings 1979-1986 Vol 2)

His Name Is Alive

View More


View More

Ambient and Modern Classical

View More

Limited Editions

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies Edit cookies preferences