Item added to your basket.

DFA Records / Human Level
Catalogue Number
Release Date
November 2018
Gift This Product

The peerless Planningtorock drops their fourth LP via DFA Records. Powerhouse is an album that lives up to its title. Across the record Jam Rostron proves once more that there are few artists currently fusing pop sensibilities, avant techniques and radical politics with such verve as they are. Tracks like ‘Transome’ and ‘Much To Touch’ (the latter of which was co-produced by The Knife’s Olof Dreijer) find Rostron slathering autotuned vocals over glorious beats equal-parts dancehall, r&b and queer pop. Elsewhere on the record, we find disco, deep house, hip-hop and other styles brought into play. One could compare this to, say, serpentwithfeet or Blood Orange’s recent output, but that would miss the fact that Powerhouse is another unique achievement from a unique creative force.

Read More

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Wounds 2:33 Planningtorock Buy
  2. 2 Transome 3:28 Planningtorock Buy
  3. 3 Dear Brother 3:28 Planningtorock Buy
  4. 4 Somethings More Painful Than Others 6:10 Planningtorock Buy
  5. 5 Much to Touch 4:42 Planningtorock Buy
  6. 6 Jam of Finland 3:53 Planningtorock Buy
  7. 7 Non Binary Femme 5:26 Planningtorock Buy
  8. 8 Piece of My Mind 4:10 Planningtorock Buy
  9. 9 Beulah Loves Dancing 4:09 Planningtorock Buy
  10. 10 Powerhouse 4:53 Planningtorock Buy


View More

Experimental Pop and New Wave

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.