Item added to your cart.

Various Artists
Space Is The Plaice
Pussyfoot Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
November 30, 2018

Pussyfoot is back with one stonking big compilation album. ‘Space Is The Plaice’ is a 28-track aquatic space opera which fits neatly onto triple vinyl and a double CD with the extended digital version spanning a massive 35 tracks. The album sees artists contributing worldwide: UK, Japan, Hong Kong, Thailand, USA, and all over Europe. The album artwork by Dan MacMillan and Kieron Livingstone melds together psychedelic prog-rock with space electro-eccentrics themes which cover the 3LP with its tongue in cheek Douglas Adams inspired designs.

‘Space Is The Plaice’ features exclusive releases including:

Howie B Featuring Norman Reedus – A Letter From Space This may seem like the unlikely pairing of an electronic music man and a zombie killing superstar (Walking Dead) but these boys have a friendship that spans over 20 years. Reedus lends his vocals to an astronaut's love letter written while looking down on the world from space. A dramatic and beautiful spoken word piece with an eerie treated piano and electronic synths.

Blood Wine Or Honey – Brilliant Pebbles BWOH are: Shane Aspegren, Joseph von Hess and James Banbury – all multi instrumentalists. Their style builds on tribal rhythms, electro-psychedelia, and afrobeat sounds to create an eclectic sound. Blood Wine or Honey are a favourite of BBC 6 music DJ Gilles Peterson and this track continues where their album left off.

Ancient Lights Featuring Flowdan – Crash Landing Go-to producer Joe Hirst’s musical alias Ancient Lights is joined by Flowdan, AKA the founding member of Roll Deep and massive Grime MC. Flowdan lends his vocal stylings to this ambient electro grime track. Slow building synths ebb and flow in and out of X-Files-esque keys steeped in mystery. Gravelly spoken word vocals accompanied by female choral sounds.

Jacknife Lee – Overview Jacknife Lee AKA Garrett Lee is a huge name in production having worked with the likes of Bloc Party, Snow Patrol and The Killers. ‘Overview’ Is Lee’s first release on Pussyfoot since his 99 album: ‘Muy Rico’. Hollow electronics bleeps, cinematic synths, background drums accompany warped sample vocals musing on earth from space. All-encompassing sound without overpowering the senses.

Tojin Kit – Machina Tojin Kit is made up of super producer Jim Abbiss (Adele, Arctic Monkeys), Chris James (Stateless, DJ Shadow) and Massive Attack cohort Kidkanevil (aka Gerard Roberts). The groups sound is vast, electronic and cinematic and their track ‘Machina’ is no exception. Intergalactic looping keys steeped in beautiful mystery, joined by grinding beats and robotic vocals.

There are other notable tracks from Deadly Avenger, Pye Corner Audio, indie legend Luke Haines, DJ Rui Da Silva, Nick Faber and Japanese artists Fantastic Plastic Machine, Chari Chari. TILT and Major Force Productions.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Creation TILT 6:44 Buy


  2. 2 Brilliant Pebbles Blood Wine Or Honey 5:17 Buy

    Brilliant Pebbles

  3. 3 Watashi wa Hikari Major Force Productions 5:18 Buy

    Watashi wa Hikari

  4. 4 Anenome Mine Timothy Fife & Deadly Avenger 4:28 Buy

    Anenome Mine

  5. 5 Air Is The Prayer Palm Skin Productions 6:08 Buy

    Air Is The Prayer

  6. 6 Overview Jacknife Lee 3:31 Buy


  7. 7 Into The Cosmos MX-774 6:07 Buy

    Into The Cosmos

  8. 8 Crash Landing Ancient Lights featuring Flowdan 5:05 Buy

    Crash Landing

  9. 9 Orbiting Satellites Kensuke Shiina 5:08 Buy

    Orbiting Satellites

  10. 10 airy'S knowone 5:01 Buy


Show All Tracks 35

Pussyfoot Records

Limited Editions

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences