Item added to your basket:

Gift This Product …

Ryuichi Sakamoto calls upon a truly stellar alignment of contemporary musicians to remodel his stunning 2017 album async. Reading like an A-list who's who of contemporary electronic artists, the honourable role of reworking such magnificent material is handed over to Oneohtrix Point Never, Alva Noto, Arca, Andy Stott, Fennesz, Yves Tumor, S U R V I V E, Cornelius, Motion Graphics, Electric Youth & Jóhann Jóhannsson (RIP), with each all offering up their own incredibly vivid portrayal of Sakamoto's otherworldly electro-acoustic compositions.

Setting the scene first is Oneohtrix Point Never with a delicately composed alternative reality touchpoint of async highlight Andata. Morphing the atmosphere of the original into something representing the reverb afterglow of his Iggy Pop collaboration The Pure and the Damned. Elsewhere Alva Noto, fresh from his and Sakamoto's NOTON collaborative LP Glass, spins a web of synapse melting atmospheres that slowly move to the oceanic rumble of the pieces Rhythm & Sound-esq bassline. Seemingly psychic, Fennesz switches things up on the same version, touching close to Alva Noto's but also turning Solari inwards on itself to reveal a plasmic glaze not found before. While Jóhann Jóhannsson's rework captures the essence and truly jaw-dropping beauty of his talent for tones perfectly.

Elsewhere Yves Tumor's ZURE brings in some empty space grime claps to the mix, endlessly threatening to break out into a sort of Logos style pirate radio wave roller. Before Andy Stott turns it ethereal with his crunch heavy module reflex. Cornelius and Arca digitize the original with the direction facing even further outwards, before Electric Youth and S U R V I V E add some seriously stranger things soundtrack elements if it were featured on The Moomins soundtrack. Ending the affair, Motion Graphics adorns Fullmoon with his Peter Summo referencing electronics, making his rework one of the most essential tracks in his catalogue since the Brass Mechanics / Tarahumara 7" on Future Times.

For those fearing the remix album as a concept, fear not Async - Remodels really is as excellent as you would hope it to be.

Read More
  1. 1 Andata (Oneohtrix Point Never Rework) 4:19 Ryuichi Sakamoto
  2. 2 Andata (Electric Youth Remix) 5:50 Ryuichi Sakamoto
  3. 3 Disintegration (Alva Noto Remodel) 5:24 Ryuichi Sakamoto
  4. 4 Async (Arca Remix) 3:42 Ryuichi Sakamoto
  5. 5 Fullmoon (Motion Graphics Remix) 3:57 Ryuichi Sakamoto
  6. 6 Solari (Fennesz Remix) 4:09 Ryuichi Sakamoto
  7. 7 Solari (Jóhann Jóhannsson Rework) 6:31 Ryuichi Sakamoto
  8. 8 ZURE (Yves Tumor Obsession Edit) 5:44 Ryuichi Sakamoto
  9. 9 Fullmoon (S U R V I V E Version) 5:12 Ryuichi Sakamoto
  10. 10 ZURE (Cornelius Remix) 3:44 Ryuichi Sakamoto
  11. 11 Life, Life (Andy Stott Remodel) 5:52 Ryuichi Sakamoto

Ryuichi Sakamoto


Ambient and Modern Classical

View More Ambient and Modern Classical

Electronic and Electronica

View More Electronic and Electronica
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.