Item added to your basket:

Nathan Fake
Ninja Tune
Catalogue Number
Release Date
February 2018
1 (of 5) Tracks
Gift This Product

Instant download of track: 'Sunder' with all pre-orders.

Full release delivered on release date: 23.02.18

Sunder finds Nathan Fake continue his journey - under and in - towards the realms of the darkside sound axis where distorted techno and industrial-influenced noise sit comfortably side by side.

In what many of us predicated following recent movements away from his earlier work making more downtempo electronica, a moe that begins with a collaboration with Prurient and continues most strongly here, Nathan Fake's slow assertion towards claustrophobic techno hits its peak stride.

As techno naturally calls for night, Sunder shows us a much more moody side to Nathan Fake than we have previously encountered, these five tracks taking everything in from angry Echospace expansions such as Arcaibh, to clapped out rave time tankers, Serotonin Drops (a track that does well sounding as exhausted as the 6 am dancers it's set to soundtrack - meant as a positive note). Even the EP's most uplifting track Lea, with its Lorenzo Senni style arpeggio stabs sounds like it's had one too many heavy weekends queuing up and losing its mind inside the cavernous spaces of a rather infamous hub for this style of greyscale techno.

While it's still a Nathan Fake record no doubt, and it is sure to satisfy fans of old, Sunder really feels like the boldest move forward from Fake for a long time. Backed up with the fact that it's currently being placed on heavy rotation within the sets of Ben UFO, Four Tet, Nina Kraviz, Overmono, JD Twitch, Randomer, Norman Nodge, James Zabiela and Cosmin TRG, we'd say this is very much an essential 12".

Pre-order Information

We endeavour to ensure pre-orders reach you on the official release date.
The date indicated above is the nearest possible delivery date according to the distributor, and is therefore liable to change at any time in accordance with changes made by the distributor.

  1. 1 Sunder 6:26 Nathan Fake Buy
  2. 2 Arcaibh 7:53 Nathan Fake
  3. 3 Serotonin Drops 7:19 Nathan Fake
  4. 4 Cloudswept 7:12 Nathan Fake
  5. 5 Lea 3:19 Nathan Fake

Nathan Fake

View More: Nathan Fake

Ninja Tune

View More: Ninja Tune
--:-- --:--

This store uses cookies to improve your shopping experience. By using the site you agree to the use of cookies. Find out more.

Accept and Close