Item added to your cart.

patten / Throwing Shade / William Doyle / Hejira / Stick in the Wheel / Moses Boyd / Sean O’Hagan / Audialsense
Musicity London
Catalogue Number
Release Date
December 1, 2017

Nick Luscombe's worldwide audio venturing takes a new step forward with the first release on his Musicity label. Described by The Quietus as "a fine weirdo pop record", Musicity London's line up calls on the talents of patten, Throwing Shade, Hejira and more for some city dwelling discoveries. The Musicity project is setting out to "encourage people to explore the city musically, architecturally and experientially by comissioning musicians to compose original tracks in response to a building, site or piece of the city that inspires them".

With each track geotagged to the location that led to its creation, Musicity London makes use of modern-day urbanite living to craft an expertly curated compilation that takes in underground swelling up drones, thriving microclimate techno and jagged folktronic escapism. From patten's wonderings around the infamous Elephant and Castle roundabout, William Doyle's soulful tribute to the sky-scraping Shard, Sean O’Hagan's Peckham influenced track and into Throwing Shade's trip down Borough Market. Each piece is the perfect follow up to the previous artists take on capital city inspired oddball electronics. When taken as a whole, the release hangs together with the narrative of wandering through the city of which it was inspired, with London's old/new building geography brilliantly mirrored within each artist making great use of old sounds meshed with new technologies.

Nick Luscombe programs the BBC Radio 3 Late Junction show and was behind the recently released Gear Box records LP compilation, plus alongside Neil Cantwell oversees the Musicity London related street level ambient project Japan Sound Portrait.

  1. 1 The Facades William Doyle 4:34
  2. 2 E&C patten 3:42
  3. 3 Forever City Throwing Shade 3:37
  4. 4 Who We Are Hejira 4:26
  5. 5 Drift Into The Land Of Fire Stick in the Wheel 5:02
  6. 6 TFL Orbit Moses Boyd 5:49
  7. 7 Here's To The Life Of A Library Sean O’Hagan 4:28
  8. 8 Generative Soundscape iv Audialsense 45:00


--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies Edit cookies preferences