Item added to your cart.

XL Recordings
Catalogue Number
Release Date
September 29, 2017


The Ibeyi sisters look to repeat the trick that made their eponymous 2015 LP such a runaway smash. The formula of that record - clip-clop beats, neat harmonising and clean r&b songwriting - is largely stuck to on Ash. Ibeyi’s singular trick is to make good use of space in a manner similar to James Blake, and the tension rought by the pockets of silence on tracks like ‘Waves’ and ‘Transmission/Michaelion’ draw you into this intimate album. They pick their collaborators carefully here, and each track with a feature is characterised by a meeting of styles. Kamasi Washington’s saxophone chorus adds weight to ‘Deathless’, while the Maia Rodriguez joint ‘Me Voy’ is a cool slice of reggaeton ‘n b.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 I Carried This for Years Ibeyi 1:34 Buy

    I Carried This for Years

  2. 2 Away Away Ibeyi 2:59 Buy
  3. 3 Deathless Ibeyi (feat. Kamasi Washington) 3:11 Buy
  4. 4 I Wanna Be Like You Ibeyi 2:37 Buy

    I Wanna Be Like You

  5. 5 No Man Is Big Enough for My Arms Ibeyi 2:26 Buy

    No Man Is Big Enough for My Arms

  6. 6 Valé Ibeyi 3:26 Buy
  7. 7 Waves Ibeyi 3:14 Buy
  8. 8 Transmission/Michaelion Ibeyi (feat. Meshell Ndegeocello) 6:30 Buy


  9. 9 Me Voy Ibeyi (feat. Mala Rodriguez) 3:07 Buy
  10. 10 When Will I Learn Ibeyi (feat. Chilly Gonzales) 3:00 Buy

    When Will I Learn

  11. 11 Numb Ibeyi 3:47 Buy
  12. 12 Ash Ibeyi 3:48 Buy


View More

XL Recordings

View More

Alternative / Indie / Post-rock

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences