Item added to your cart.

Grizzly Bear
Painted Ruins
Catalogue Number
Release Date
August 18, 2017


One of the titans of American indie are back with their first album in a half-decade. Painted Ruins sees the band largely dealing in the sort of deft, expansive rock that has served them so well up until this point. The widescreen production from bassist Chris Taylor befits the band’s move to a major label, but the rock-solid songcraft means that Painted Ruins feels like a natural progression rather than an awkward step up. The likes of ‘Mourning Sound’ and ‘Four Cypresses’ will sound glorious as the sun sets over whichever festival you next see them at. Meanwhile ‘Three Rings’, a ballad built on a crackling drum loop and Ed Droste’s wonderful tenor, is an interesting foray into more Talk Talk-style territory.

  1. 1 Wasted Acres
  2. 2 Mourning Sound 4:24
  3. 3 Four Cypresses 4:49
  4. 4 Three Rings 4:50
  5. 5 Losing All Sense
  6. 6 Aquarian
  7. 7 Cut-Out
  8. 8 Glass Hillside
  9. 9 Neighbors 4:42
  10. 10 Systole
  11. 11 Sky Took Hold

Grizzly Bear

View More


Alternative / Indie / Post-rock

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences