Item added to your cart.

Joni Void
Catalogue Number
Release Date
May 2017
Gift This Product

Active on the internet as Johnny Ripper for several years now, the one born Jean Cousin hones his plunderphonic sound world on his debut release as Joni Void. Looking to the likes of Boards of Canada, The Books and Yann Tiersen, Selfless presents itself as a songbook of other people’s lives. Characters pepper the album and are each allotted their own tracks - ‘Natalie’s Song’, ‘Kyla’s Song’ and so forth - but Cousin remains firmly in control. He pilots his tracks carefully, taking great care over his samples even as he turns them inside out. As such he is able to take his pieces to a variety of places, from the lights-low techno of ‘Empathy (Ayuko’s Song)’ to the pummelling industrial death-disco of ‘Abjection’.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Song Siènne Joni Void 5:40 Buy
  2. 2 Observer (Natalie's Song) Joni Void 3:26 Buy
  3. 3 Doppler Joni Void 2:00 Buy
  4. 4 Empathy (Ayuko's Song) Joni Void 4:08 Buy
  5. 5 Aesthetics of Disappearance Joni Void 4:05 Buy
  6. 6 Désolé (Pardon the Interruption) Joni Void 1:00 Buy
  7. 7 Cinema Without People Joni Void 4:45 Buy
  8. 8 Yung Werther (Ogun's Song) Joni Void 5:40 Buy
  9. 9 Abjection Joni Void 4:29 Buy
  10. 10 Disassociation (Kyla's Song) Joni Void 5:02 Buy
  11. 11 Agnosia Joni Void 4:50 Buy
  12. 12 Deaf (No More Songs) Joni Void 1:00 Buy

Joni Void


Electronic and Electronica

Alternative and Indie

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.