Item added to your cart.

Neil Scrivin
Twenty Years on Ben Nevis
Catalogue Number
Release Date
March 24, 2017


Fonolith go good with a remaster of a somewhat unknown gem within the electronica-radiophonica sphere, Neil Scrivin's atmospheric adventure chronicling life in the Ben Nevis observatory, based on an imaginary re-interpretation of the book by W. T. Kilgour!

For those who don't know this ten years old but in many ways timeless album, it was originally released as a digital only entry back in 2007. Having spent the intervening years gathering dust (which perfectly adds to the atmospherics) on the hard drives of those lucky enough to have stumbled across the recordings.

Drawing parallels with the current wave of glance back library nostalgia that haunts the work of PYE Corner Audio & The Lost Tapes Record Club, Neil Scrivin manages to carry within the grooves, the sort of dreamlike holographic nuances of a freshly found Boc Maxima cassette that has been misplaced and found by a cassette deck yielding fuzz hungry electronica head.

Basically, it's a total find and having a physical copy of this means unless you misplace the plastic, you can forever escape the fear of your computer dying and these cinematic sounds being lost forever. Pressed onto a fittingly silver glitter 'snow storm' cassette tape and housed inside an ice clear case, the sounds are now perfectly captured on the format that (unless there's a vinyl edition coming, fingers crossed!) perfectly suits its snowfall ambience.

Hit play and then come and come pick us up in another ten years.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 The Observatory 2:39 Buy
  2. 2 Work of the Observers 3:34 Buy
  3. 3 Adventures 2:18 Buy
  4. 4 Records 2:12 Buy
  5. 5 Ceremonials on the Summit 2:26 Buy
  6. 6 Accidents 1:05 Buy
  7. 7 Phenomena 2:39 Buy
  8. 8 Storms 2:15 Buy
  9. 9 Winter & Summer Pastimes 3:16 Buy
  10. 10 Entries from the Log 2:20 Buy
  11. 11 Fauna & Flora 2:27 Buy
  12. 12 Troubles - Physical and Otherwise 3:16 Buy
  13. 13 Mountaineers 3:39 Buy
  14. 14 Closing of the Observatory 1:51 Buy

Neil Scrivin


View More

Electronic and Electronica

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences