Item added to your cart.

Various Artists
BBC Radiophonic Workshop - The Soundhouse
Silva Screen Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
October 7, 2016


First time reissue of the classic 1983 radiophonic tribute to the Fairlight CMI, a game changing machine which cost around the same price as a house when it first arrived in Britain. Well known around electronic music circles for the classic vocoder track ‘Mainstream’ by Peter Howell (who worked on the Dr. Who soundtrack), the Soundhouse album isn’t one of the rarer records in the radiophonic back catalogue, but nonetheless it’s nice to see it appear on the shelves again. Innovative digital sampling techniques aplenty, it’s a historical document for anyone interested in the evolution of electronic music in the UK.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Radiophonic Rock Peter Howell, Roger Limb, Jonathan Gibbs, Malcolm Clarke, Elizabeth Parker and Dick Mills 4:15 Buy

    Radiophonic Rock

  2. 2 Lascaux Peter Howell 2:21 Buy


  3. 3 Computers in the Real World Jonathan Gibbs 0:48 Buy

    Computers in the Real World

  4. 4 Seascape Dick Mills 2:24 Buy


  5. 5 The Whale Paddy Kingsland 1:51 Buy

    The Whale

  6. 6 Ralleyman Roger Limb 3:29 Buy


  7. 7 Catch the Wind Dick Mills 1:28 Buy

    Catch the Wind

  8. 8 Believe It or Not Malcolm Clarke 1:27 Buy

    Believe It or Not

  9. 9 Planet Earth Elizabeth Parker 2:11 Buy

    Planet Earth

  10. 10 Dawn Jonathan Gibbs 2:09 Buy


Show All Tracks 22

Silva Screen Records

View More

Library and Field Recordings

View More

Limited Editions

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences