Item added to your basket.

Mykki Blanco
Dogfood Music Group
Catalogue Number
Release Date
September 2016
Gift This Product

Mykki Blanco finally commits to wax a fully formed long player of hyper-Dogfood style rap that adds an element of the avant to a strong backdrop of trap beats 'n' bones. Citing influences such as Jay Z, Marilyn Manson and Death Grips is bound to ensure that more than a few ears prick up, whether for the traditional hip-hop lyricism and flow of Jay Z or the gender-blurring innovation within popular music culture that Manson championed in the post-Bowie era. The Californian rapper, born Michael Quattlebaum Jr. in the mid-80s Orange County climate, exploded onto the scene with ‘Wavvy’ back in 2013. The accompanying video, featuring Mykki frantically rhyming into the camera while hanging out the back of a moving truck amid a haze of green tinted streetlights, has since gone viral and amassed close to two million views. During the interim the rapper has proceeded to drop a series of EP’s and, at the end of 2014, an LP featuring collaborations with No Bra and a slew of UNO/New York based experimental artists. With Mykki, she lays down thirteen synth-heavy tracks including four colabs with French artist Woodkid. It’s a powerful subversion of traditional hip-hop culture and a welcome collection of experimental pop material to boot.

Read More

A singular artist who has made an indelible mark on the pop music landscape with a string of street-level releases and mixtapes, Mykki Blanco releases his debut album “Mykki“. Produced by Woodkid and Jeremiah Meece, the album finds Blanco simultaneously at his most fearless and most accessible.

“I realised as an artist I need to focus on myself and on my work. Arguments with people online distract from that. I used to have a problem with the media trying to define me, either as a drag queen, or a transvestite, as a homosexual rapper, a transsexual or an HIV positive pop star, but most people need labels and my true fans know who I am and what I'm about."

Read More

Digital Track List

  1. 1 I'm In A Mood Mykki Blanco 3:43 Buy
  2. 2 Loner Mykki Blanco feat. Jean Deaux 3:26 Buy
  3. 3 Highschool Never Ends Mykki Blanco feat. Woodkid 5:32 Buy
  4. 4 Interlude 1 Mykki Blanco 0:58 Buy
  5. 5 My Nene Mykki Blanco 3:21 Buy
  6. 6 The Plug Won't Mykki Blanco 3:38 Buy
  7. 7 Hideaway Mykki Blanco feat. Jeremiah Meece 2:51 Buy
  8. 8 Interlude 2 Mykki Blanco 1:05 Buy
  9. 9 You Don't Know Me Mykki Blanco 2:40 Buy
  10. 10 Fendi Band Mykki Blanco 3:17 Buy
  11. 11 For The Cunts Mykki Blanco 2:16 Buy
  12. 12 Shit Talking Creep Mykki Blanco 1:29 Buy
  13. 13 Rock N Roll Dough Mykki Blanco 2:42 Buy

Mykki Blanco

Hip Hop

Electronic and Electronica

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.