Item added to your cart.

Chihei Hatakeyama
Minima Moralia
Catalogue Number
Release Date
February 21, 2006


Chihei Hatakeyama concentrated on the textures of sound in creating Minima Moralia, consciously avoiding the use of electronic sounds; instead using sound fragments made by guitars and vibraphone he played himself. The fragments were processed and reprocessed in live performances on laptop. The contention between the analogue sound sources, digital processing and the musician's choices are what give Minima Moralia its positive, warm, and physical presence.

Minima Moralia presents the listener with tones that are familiar and tones that are foreign. Specific points of sound appear and velvet clouds elevate and disperse over the course of the album. Jumbles of melodies reveal and then resolve themselves. At all points Hatakeyama's directing hand is at work; in the shiver of a guitar string, the bright ring of the vibraphone, and the strategic use of silence. The naturalistic song titles suggest every day moments, sensations and experiences.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Bonfire on the Field 8:13 Buy

    Bonfire on the Field

  2. 2 Swaying Curtain in the Window 8:25 Buy

    Swaying Curtain in the Window

  3. 3 Starlight Reflecting on the Surface of the River 7:00 Buy

    Starlight Reflecting on the Surface of the River

  4. 4 Towards a Tranquil Marsh 4:46 Buy

    Towards a Tranquil Marsh

  5. 5 Granular Haze 7:21 Buy
  6. 6 Inside of the Pocket 4:31 Buy

    Inside of the Pocket

  7. 7 Beside a Well 11:30 Buy

Chihei Hatakeyama


View More

Alternative / Indie / Post-rock

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences