Item added to your basket.

The New Backwards
The New Backwards
Important Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
September 2016

Important records present a crucial repress of a true dark jewel in Coil's crowning discography, The New Backwards. Originally recorded in the mid 90's at Trent Reznor's Nothing Studios in New Orleans and originally planned for release on Reznor's Nothing Records, Backwards was left untouched until 2007 when Peter Christopherson and Danny Hyde remixed the tracks in Bangkok.

The New Backwards is the perfect stepping stone into the more electronic territories stalked by Coil, the tracks within show the electronic angles the group often drifted towards with harsh, violent industrial structures of wall-of-noise techno.

The music fuses the cold creeping folk of their early work and the latter ambience that came to dark on the Musick series and the endless downward spiral of the Time Machines slip. If you copped the Cold Spring issue of Danny Hyde's mixes, issued in 2015 by Cold Spring as Backwards, or have even a passing interest in industrial or electronic music in general than this is one of the most crucial recordings you will ever encounter.

Read More

###Vinyl Track List

  1. Careful What You Wish For
  2. Nature Is A Language
  3. Algerian Basses
  4. Copacabbala
  5. Paint Me As A Dead Soul
  6. Princess Margaret's Man In The D'Jamalfna
Read More
  1. 1 Careful What You Wish For Coil 2:00
  2. 2 AYOR Coil  
  3. 3 Nature Is A Language Coil 2:00
  4. 4 Fire Of The Green Dragon Coil  
  5. 5 Algerian Basses Coil 2:00
  6. 6 Copacaballa Coil 2:00
  7. 7 Paint Me As A Dead Soul Coil 2:00
  8. 8 Backwards Coil  
  9. 9 Princess Margaret's Man In The D'jamalfna Coil 2:00


Important Records

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.