Item added to your basket.

The Diary
J Dilla
The Diary
Pay Jay
Catalogue Number
Release Date
April 2016
Gift This Product

Initially intended for release in 2002, The Diary was shelved after the legendary J Dilla began a creative renaissance in L.A. The long lost vocal album has been painstakingly assembled from two-track mixdowns and multi-track masters discovered in Dilla’s archives after his death in 2006, and is now finally presented as the final batch of unissued material that he had assembled for release during his lifetime. The Diary features two tracks previously released on 12” in 2013 – ‘The Anthem’ and ‘Trucks’, the latter an incredible Gary Numan flip – as well as the previously heard ‘Fuck the Police’. Bright, muscular production from the likes of Madlib, Pete Rock, Karriem Riggins, Bink! and House Shoes, with guest vocalists including Nas and Snoop Dogg. Dilla’s status as a producer has never been in doubt, but if you ever had him pegged as anything less than a seriously hot MC then it may be time to reconsider.

Read More
  1. 1 The Introduction J Dilla 1:00
  2. 2 The Anthem (feat Frank & Dank) J Dilla 1:00
  3. 3 Fight Club (feat Nottz & Boogie) J Dilla 1:00
  4. 4 The Shining (Diamonds) (feat Kenny Wray - part 1) J Dilla 1:00
  5. 5 The Shining (Ice) (part 2) J Dilla  
  6. 6 Trucks J Dilla  
  7. 7 Gangsta Boogie (feat Snoop Dogg & Kokane) J Dilla  
  8. 8 Drive Me Wild J Dilla  
  9. 9 Give Them What They Want J Dilla  
  10. 10 The Creep (The O) J Dilla  
  11. 11 The Ex (feat Bilal) J Dilla  
  12. 12 So Far J Dilla  
  13. 13 Fuck the Police J Dilla  
  14. 14 The Diary J Dilla  

J Dilla

Pay Jay

Hip Hop

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.