Item added to your cart.

Yuzo Koshiro
Streets of Rage 2
Data Discs
Catalogue Number
Release Date
April 15, 2016
  • Vinyl, 2×LP, Coloured Vinyl

    Pre-order $43.49

    - Frosted clear vinyl

    Read More


    • 180g frosted transparent double vinyl
    • Gatefold sleeve with OBI strip
    • Two lithographic prints featuring archival artwork
    • Four bonus tracks of demos, alternate versions and unused compositions
    • Fully remastered in collaboration with and approved by Yuzo Koshiro

    Available: November 27, 2020
    Estimated shipping: November 26, 2020

  • Vinyl, 2×LP

    Out of stock
    Read More


    • Bleep UK Exclusive
    • 180g transparent double vinyl press with black smoke effect
    • Obi strip
    • Gatefold sleeve
    • Includes four bonus tracks

    Available: May 10, 2016

Considered to be one of the greatest video game soundtracks ever, Streets Of Rage II gets its FM synthesized smash-em-up casio keyboard soundtrack licked onto two pieces of wax by Data Discs. For those that don't know, Streets Of Rage II was a video game where you scroll across the screen of a heavily decayed urban landscape knocking out bad guys and eating roast dinners, to say it's pretty nuts is an understatement and thankfully the man in charge of the music, Yuzo Koshiro made the perfect soundtrack to this video game of decadent psychedelic madness.

For our money he must have been listening to the early hardcore and jungle records being produced at the time of making these soundtracks (it was made in 92 after all!) as SOR II is, at its core a sort of unheard maximalist happy hardcore chiptune techno record (genre smash-em up!) The tempo is set to 11 and the core sounds are pianos, FM breakbeats, huge LFO subs and G-funk-leaning dry acid squiggles. Koshiro composed this music to have a real keen sense of fun at its center, as way to ensure it fitted perfectly with the series of video games it was created for.

This level of bonkers experimentalism is hard to find in a lot of music so if you wanna brighten up your day drink a few coffees and stick this on. A strong look for anyone with a soft spot for Altern-8, DJ Scotch Egg, jungle records played at the wrong speed, the 90's. Fingers crossed they press up the gabba opus SOR III next!

Pre-order Information

We endeavour to ensure pre-orders reach you on the official release date. The date indicated above is the nearest possible delivery date according to the distributor, and is therefore liable to change at any time in accordance with changes made by the distributor.

  1. 1 S.O.R Super Mix 4:05
  2. 2 Player Select 1:07
  3. 3 Go Straight 3:00
  4. 4 In the Bar
  5. 5 Never Return Alive 3:49
  6. 6 Spin on the Bridge
  7. 7 Ready Funk
  8. 8 Dreamer
  9. 9 Alien Power
  10. 10 Under Logic
Show All Tracks 25

Yuzo Koshiro

Data Discs

View More

Limited Editions

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences