Item added to your cart.

Tru Thoughts
Catalogue Number
Release Date
January 2016
Gift This Product

Following the impressive Chapters LP, Tokyo-born Masaaki Yoshida aka Anchorsong returns to Tru Thoughts with his second full length Ceremonial. Anyone familiar with Yoshida’s output will immediately notice a change of direction in his sound, with the artist recently becoming discovering and becoming consumed with vintage African recordings, especially the hallucinatory polyrhythms native to West Africa. Throughout Ceremonial, the Japanese artist seamlessly infuses his influence with deft electronic touches; augmenting ancient indigenous rhythm for today’s listenership, leading first with the drone-backed ‘Eve’ with its subtle nods to gamelan percussion, moving through the rousing tribal clatter of ‘Mother’ and ‘Kajo’ – a twinkling, Detroit-indebted gamelan cut with dancefloor sensibilities. The accordion led ‘Monsoon’ marks a brief interlude before slipping into the rich melodies of ‘Butterflies’ with its gentle thumb piano notes, whilst the acidic twinges and orchestral strings of the title cut ‘Ceremonial’ wraps up, rounding off a perfectly executed hybrid of styles.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Eve Anchorsong 5:57 Buy
  2. 2 Expo Anchorsong 2:35 Buy
  3. 3 Mother Anchorsong 4:10 Buy
  4. 4 Oriental Suite Anchorsong 4:51 Buy
  5. 5 Kajo Anchorsong 5:25 Buy
  6. 6 Monsoon Anchorsong 1:12 Buy
  7. 7 Butterflies Anchorsong 5:57 Buy
  8. 8 Rendezvous Anchorsong 4:41 Buy
  9. 9 Last Feast Anchorsong 6:11 Buy
  10. 10 Outro Anchorsong 0:55 Buy
  11. 11 Ceremony Anchorsong 4:04 Buy


Tru Thoughts

View More


View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.