Item added to your basket.

Radioland: Radio-Activity Revisited
Franck Vigroux & Matthew Bourne
Radioland: Radio-Activity Revisited
The Leaf Label
Catalogue Number
BAY 102E
Release Date
December 2015
  • Vinyl, 1×LP

    • + MP3
    • Limited to 1,000 copies
    • Deluxe gatefold sleeve
    • Includes CD

    In stock, shipping now.

  • CD

    Out of stock
    • + MP3
    • Limited to 2,000 copies
    • Packaged in a hardback 20-page book
    • Includes liner notes by David Stubbs, author of Future Days: Krautrock and the Building of Modern Germany
    • Includes photographs and images from the project

Gift This Product

Instant MP3 download with all Vinyl / CD purchases.

Radioland is a reimagining of Kraftwerk’s under-appreciated 1975 album Radio-Activity by sound artist Franck Vigroux, award-winning pianist/composer Matthew Bourne, and installation artist Antoine Schmitt. Originally debuting as a live show on the 40th anniversary of the album’s original release, Radioland is not a faithful, note-for-note replication of the album. Instead, it uses Radio-Activity as its starting point and goes from there, using the songs as material to play with and riff on. The original melodies and rhythms are briefly referenced, but the album goes on to reveal more original and more intricate ideas, discovering new avenues to pursue within Kraftwerk’s original design. Radioland uses analogue instruments, rewired melodies, vocal processing, and drones discovered in space by NASA recently as some of its building blocks. Meanwhile, many of the reimagined versions of Radio-Activity’s songs take influences from genres that came about after that album, like synth pop, R&B, and hip hop – genres that were directly influenced by Kraftwerk’s futuristic sound. It’s a neat demonstration of the German group’s long-lasting legacy, using the past to discover the present and future.

Read More

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Geiger Counter Franck Vigroux & Matthew Bourne 2:07 Buy
  2. 2 Radioactivity Franck Vigroux & Matthew Bourne 5:07 Buy
  3. 3 Radioland Franck Vigroux & Matthew Bourne 4:50 Buy
  4. 4 Airwaves Franck Vigroux & Matthew Bourne 5:16 Buy
  5. 5 Intermission / News Franck Vigroux & Matthew Bourne 1:16 Buy
  6. 6 The Voice of Energy Franck Vigroux & Matthew Bourne 2:52 Buy
  7. 7 Antenna Franck Vigroux & Matthew Bourne 7:03 Buy
  8. 8 Radio Stars Franck Vigroux & Matthew Bourne 6:06 Buy
  9. 9 Uranium Franck Vigroux & Matthew Bourne 2:51 Buy
  10. 10 Transistor Franck Vigroux & Matthew Bourne 4:24 Buy
  11. 11 Ohm Sweet Ohm Franck Vigroux & Matthew Bourne 3:17 Buy

The Leaf Label

Electronic and Electronica

Album of the Week

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.