Item added to your basket:

Gift This Product

Before writing scores for films like Philadelphia, The Silence Of The Lambs or The Lord of The Rings, it was his eerie soundtracks to the body horror works of David Cronenberg that paved the way for his legendary status: OST label Mondo is compiling Howard Shore's music to 1979’s The Brood and 1981’s Scanners on vinyl for the first time. With Cronenberg giving him a carte blanche, both films are a rare exhibition of the Canadian composer’s very personal style: maximalist, multi-layered orchestral arrangements and aggressive string plucking stand against abrasive synths sounds generated by a Prophet 5 and an ARP 2600, all united by a lethal dose of pitch-bending and dissonance.


  1. Main Title (Scanners)
  2. Vale Captured
  3. Ephemerol
  4. The Ripe Program
  5. The Injection
  6. Dirge For The Assassins
  7. Vale's Lonely Walk
  8. The Dart
  9. Scanner Duel
  10. The Shape Of Rage: A Suite For 21 Strings (The Brood)
Read More
  1. 1 Main Title (Scanners) 0:47 Howard Shaw
  2. 2 Vale Captured 2:00 Howard Shaw
  3. 3 Ephemerol 0:39 Howard Shaw


View More: MONDO


View More: Soundtracks

Limited Editions

View More: Limited Editions
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.