Item added to your basket.

Unplugged In New York
Unplugged In New York
Original Recordings Group
Catalogue Number
Release Date
May 2015
Gift This Product

The connoisseur's Nirvana record here. Unplugged In New York may not have the thrash of Bleach, the cache of In Utero or the Nevermindyness of Nevermind, but the stripped-back sound of this 1993 MTV Unplugged session shines new light onto the group’s catalogue. Kurt Cobain’s voice arguably never sounded better than it did here. The way his low mumble suddenly breaks into a serrated shriek on the likes of ‘Pennyroyal Tea’, ‘All Apologies’ and ‘Come As You Are’ makes the hairs stand up. The covers are fantastic - Nirvana’s take on David Bowie’s ‘The Man Who Sold The World’ has usurped the original as the definitive version - and there’s generally just an intimate, haunting quality to this thing that you won’t find anywhere else in the band’s output.

Read More
  1. 1 About A Girl Nirvana 1:03
  2. 2 Come As You Are Nirvana 1:02
  3. 3 Jesus Doesn't Want Me For A Sunbeam Nirvana 0:56
  4. 4 The Man Who Sold The World Nirvana 1:00
  5. 5 Pennyroyal Tea Nirvana 1:04
  6. 6 Dumb Nirvana 1:02
  7. 7 Polly Nirvana 1:01
  8. 8 On A Plain Nirvana 1:06
  9. 9 Something In The Way Nirvana 0:59
  10. 10 Plateau Nirvana 1:01
  11. 11 Oh Me Nirvana 1:04
  12. 12 Lake Of Fire Nirvana 1:07
  13. 13 All Apologies Nirvana 1:01
  14. 14 Where Did You Sleep Last Night Nirvana 1:00



Alternative and Indie

Vinyl Reissue

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.