Item added to your basket.

Gift This Product

Instant MP3 download with all Vinyl / Vinyl / CD purchases.

On his debut album for Ghostly International, Charles Duff, the San Francisco producer behind Matrixxman, explores the darker sides of humanity. Having caught our attention with promising EPs for Ghostly International sister label Spectral Sound, squeaking house productions for Dutch imprint Dekmantel and of course the material for his own Soo Wavey Records (which he co-runs with Vin Sol), Homesick allows for his sound to come into its own in the most coherent way to date. Weaving his trademark element of squeezing 909 patterns into ambient frameworks, he opens up a world of rich associations. His interest in the inherently ambiguous relationship between the human and the machine finds expression in the deep punching kicks throughout the album, and in Detroit references such as 'Packard Plant', one of the city's former automobile-manufacturing factories. His obsession with artificial intelligence is reflected in 'Annika's Theme', essentially an homage to an elusive neuroscientist conducting research that once might have a significant impact on humanity - until then we'll settle for the reliably visionary output quality imprints like Ghostly International keep delighting us with.

Read More

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Necronomicon Matrixxman 9:34 Buy
  2. 2 Augmented Matrixxman 5:52 Buy
  3. 3 Red Light District Matrixxman 3:32 Buy
  4. 4 Packard Plant Matrixxman 4:17 Buy
  5. 5 Dejected Matrixxman 1:19 Buy
  6. 6 Network Failure Matrixxman 5:05 Buy
  7. 7 False Pattern Recognition Matrixxman 7:01 Buy
  8. 8 Opium Den Matrixxman 5:49 Buy
  9. 9 Annika's Theme Matrixxman 4:12 Buy
  10. 10 HMU (Hit Me Up) Matrixxman feat. Vin Sol 4:34 Buy
  11. 11 Switchblade Matrixxman 5:02 Buy
  12. 12 Earth Like Conditions Matrixxman 3:32 Buy


Ghostly International

Electro and Acid

Electronic and Electronica

Dancefloor and Techno

Album of the Week

Limited Editions

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.