Item added to your cart.

Washington Phillips
Washington Phillips
Washington Phillips
Death Is Not The End
Catalogue Number
Release Date
August 2015
Gift This Product

Instant MP3 download with all Cassette purchases.

True to their word, Death Is Not The End resurrect ten of Washington Phillips' 18 known recordings in fine fashion. Much like label contemporaries Trunk Records or Dead-Cert, they perform the noble job of ensuring gems of the past are given the new life and attention they deserve.

Recorded between 1927 and 1929, the rich, evocative tones of the Texan gospel singer echo loud and clear through the warm crackle of vintage recording equipment. Accompanied by an instrument that has been subject to much speculation - identified as everything from a Delceola, Celestaphone, Phonoharp or homemade instrument by Phillips himself (any guesses?), the record sways from deep, mournful calls to bright, joyful celebrations, all delivered with an unforgettable Texan twang. What are they doing in heaven today? I don't know boy. But it's my business to stay here and sing about it, he proclaims. Thank the lord he did.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Take Your Burden to the Lord Washington Phillips 3:12 Buy
  2. 2 I Had a Good Mother and Father Washington Phillips 3:00 Buy
  3. 3 Lift Him up Thats All Washington Phillips 3:29 Buy
  4. 4 Paul and Silas in Jail Washington Phillips 2:39 Buy
  5. 5 You Cant Stop a Tattler Washington Phillips 2:47 Buy
  6. 6 What Are They Doing in Heaven Today Washington Phillips 3:17 Buy
  7. 7 I Was Born to Preach the Gospel Washington Phillips 3:07 Buy
  8. 8 Mothers Last Word to Her Daughter Washington Phillips 2:53 Buy
  9. 9 Mothers Last Word to Her Son Washington Phillips 2:50 Buy
  10. 10 Train Your Child Washington Phillips 1:59 Buy

Death Is Not The End

View More

1950s and earlier

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.