Item added to your cart.

Natureboy Flako
Five Easy Pieces
Catalogue Number
Release Date
March 16, 2015

Instant MP3 download with all Vinyl / CD purchases.


Without a doubt one of the most startlingly unique and original releases to emerge within the electronic underground of 2015 was Flako's Natureboy, a superb album of hugely emotive content that spanned classical structures, beat-laced sampledelia and out-and-out Bleep electronics. Back in the cold winter months of March, London based beatmaker Dario Rojo Guerra aka Flako delivered his debut full length Natureboy on Five Easy Pieces. We knew Flako, also known as the blue-eyed soul soul singer Dirg Gerner on Floating Point's Eglo label, had an incredible ear and warmth to his sound, but it was with the first listen of this album that he truly transported us to some island far far away from our European grey, in to a rich and organic world that is Natureboy. With soaring, bombastic synth sections that bounce off of intricately placed beat patterns, he created a hybrid sound that is both visceral and cinematic. The record is a giant undertaking, leading with introspective, hovering drones before settling into the enchanting ‘Shipibo Icaro’ followed by the softer, new age chords and wood block percussion on ‘Gelis’. Elsewhere, Guerra nods to a variety of styles through his dexterous beat-making ability, such as the footwork-referencing ‘Kuku’ or more ridged grime styles on ‘Lyrebird’. He explores the sounds of his childhood in Chile by referencing South American soul, folk and cumbia, plus his passion for crate digging leads to references of Vangelis’ synth compositions, with all of this perfectly woven together with the strings of Miguel Atwood-Ferguson in the richly embroidered track 'Twelve O'Clock Shadow'.

Having been on heavy rotation in the Bleep office since its release in March it was natural that Natureboy was our album of the year in 2015, a truly engaging and rewarding release that if you have not explored it already we urge you to spend some time with it, and it goes without saying that we are really look forward to hearing what Flako has in store for us in the years to come.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 The Opening / Purple Trees Natureboy Flako 4:04 Buy

    The Opening / Purple Trees

  2. 2 Shipibo Icaro Natureboy Flako 3:35 Buy
  3. 3 Gelis Natureboy Flako 3:08 Buy
  4. 4 Spice Melange Natureboy Flako 3:10 Buy
  5. 5 Kuku Natureboy Flako 3:43 Buy
  6. 6 Solo For Chloë Natureboy Flako 1:54 Buy

    Solo For Chloë

  7. 7 Shape Of Things To Come Natureboy Flako 3:12 Buy

    Shape Of Things To Come

  8. 8 Som Da Aura Natureboy Flako 0:52 Buy
  9. 9 Twelve O'Clock Shadow Flako feat. Miguel Atwood-Ferguson 3:57 Buy

    Twelve O'Clock Shadow

  10. 10 Lyrebird Natureboy Flako 2:47 Buy
Show All Tracks 16

Natureboy Flako

View More

Five Easy Pieces

View More


View More

Album of the Week

View More

Albums of the Year 2015

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences