Your Basket


Item added to your basket:

  • Total

Basket Empty

Your basket is currently empty.
Items you add to your basket will appear here.

Sign in to view existing basket.

Sign In

View Your Wish List

Five Easy Pieces
Catalogue Number
Release Date
March 2015
16 Tracks
Gift This Product…

Instant MP3 download with all Vinyl / CD purchases.

Without a doubt one of the most startlingly unique and original releases to emerge within the electronic underground of 2015 was Flako's Natureboy, a superb album of hugely emotive content that spanned classical structures, beat-laced sampledelia and out-and-out Bleep electronics. Back in the cold winter months of March, London based beatmaker Dario Rojo Guerra aka Flako delivered his debut full length Natureboy on Five Easy Pieces. We knew Flako, also known as the blue-eyed soul soul singer Dirg Gerner on Floating Point's Eglo label, had an incredible ear and warmth to his sound, but it was with the first listen of this album that he truly transported us to some island far far away from our European grey, in to a rich and organic world that is Natureboy. With soaring, bombastic synth sections that bounce off of intricately placed beat patterns, he created a hybrid sound that is both visceral and cinematic. The record is a giant undertaking, leading with introspective, hovering drones before settling into the enchanting ‘Shipibo Icaro’ followed by the softer, new age chords and wood block percussion on ‘Gelis’. Elsewhere, Guerra nods to a variety of styles through his dexterous beat-making ability, such as the footwork-referencing ‘Kuku’ or more ridged grime styles on ‘Lyrebird’. He explores the sounds of his childhood in Chile by referencing South American soul, folk and cumbia, plus his passion for crate digging leads to references of Vangelis’ synth compositions, with all of this perfectly woven together with the strings of Miguel Atwood-Ferguson in the richly embroidered track 'Twelve O'Clock Shadow'.

Having been on heavy rotation in the Bleep office since its release in March it was natural that Natureboy was our album of the year in 2015, a truly engaging and rewarding release that if you have not explored it already we urge you to spend some time with it, and it goes without saying that we are really look forward to hearing what Flako has in store for us in the years to come.

Vinyl / CD purchases come with Bleep exclusive CD of tracks 'Get Out Of My Way' & 'Limbus'

Flako 'Natureboy' T-shirt

  1. 1 The Opening / Purple Trees 4:04 Flako Buy
  2. 2 Shipibo Icaro 3:35 Flako Buy
  3. 3 Gelis 3:08 Flako Buy
  4. 4 Spice Melange 3:10 Flako Buy
  5. 5 Kuku 3:43 Flako Buy
  6. 6 Solo For Chloë 1:54 Flako Buy
  7. 7 Shape Of Things To Come 3:12 Flako Buy
  8. 8 Som Da Aura 0:52 Flako Buy
  9. 9 Twelve O'Clock Shadow 3:57 Flako feat. Miguel Atwood-Ferguson Buy
  10. 10 Lyrebird 2:47 Flako Buy
Show All 16 Tracks


Five Easy Pieces

View More: Five Easy Pieces


Album of the Week

View More: Album of the Week
--:-- --:--