Item added to your cart.

Anthology of Interplanetary Folk Music Vol. 1: Nommos / Visiting
Craig Leon
Anthology of Interplanetary Folk Music Vol. 1: Nommos / Visiting
RVNG Intl.
Catalogue Number
Release Date
October 2018
Gift This Product

RVNG Intl. have a treat here, as Craig Leon's seminal albums Nommos and Visiting get the definitive reissue treatment. Inspired by an exhibition at the Brooklyn Museum in 1973 of sculptures by the Dogon people of Mali, a tribe that worships an otherworldly visitor named Nommos, Leon set about capturing the imagined sound of extraterrestrial visitors who might have shared their musical traditions with their earthly hosts. The greatest and most up to date synthesisers of the day stood in for inaccessible alien instruments, and Leon created a sound palette that would shape and define a new cosmic universe. Visiting, a 1982 follow-up to Nommos, helps form the first volume of Leon's Anthology of Interplanetary Folk Music. This edition has been fully remastered and reissued, and the vinyl set includes a set of essays by Leon that tell of the Dogon people and of Leon's own sonic adventures, respectively.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Ring with Three Concentric Discs Craig Leon 6:25 Buy
  2. 2 Donkeys Bearing Cups Craig Leon 6:19 Buy
  3. 3 Nommo Craig Leon 7:17 Buy
  4. 4 Four Eyes to See the Afterlife Craig Leon 15:20
  5. 5 She Wears a Hemispherical Skullcap Craig Leon 6:49 Buy
  6. 6 One Hundred Steps Craig Leon 4:50 Buy
  7. 7 Region of Fleeing Civilians Craig Leon 4:33 Buy
  8. 8 Three Small Coins Craig Leon 6:42 Buy
  9. 9 Visiting Craig Leon 4:53 Buy
  10. 10 Details Suggest Fidelity to Fact Craig Leon 2:31 Buy
  11. 11 The Customs of the Age Disturbed Craig Leon 7:44 Buy

Craig Leon

RVNG Intl.

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.