Item added to your cart.

The Air Between Words
Ninja Tune
Catalogue Number
Release Date
June 16, 2014

Instant MP3 download with all Vinyl / CD purchases.


Dutch-born, Washington DC-based producer Martyn returns with a new album, his third LP and his first for Ninja Tune. His trademark tough kicks and raw 4/4 beats are all present and correct, the muscular rhythms beautifully crafted and working perfectly within the context of the full-length album format. The beat-less 'Forgiveness Step 1' opens the release before the listener is pitched straight onto the dance floor with the lean, UKG-leaning 'Glassbeadgames', a collaboration with Kieran Hebden (Four Tet). 'Empty Minds' is vintage Martyn, a toughened bass-line diving in a way that is guaranteed to put hands in the air. 'Love Of Pleasure' is another collaboration, this time with Inga Copeland (formerly Hype Williams), her meandering, day-dreaming vocals suspended in churning machine clamour. One of the best moments comes at the end though, with final track 'Fashion Skater' a moody, warehouse crawl that steadily transforms into something brighter with the addition of uplifting piano keys in the final half.

<a href=""> Also available as an exclusive t-shirt / download bundle</a>

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Forgiveness Step 1 Martyn 2:53 Buy

    Forgiveness Step 1

  2. 2 Glassbeadgames Martyn & Four Tet 6:14 Buy


  3. 3 Empty Mind Martyn 4:58 Buy
  4. 4 Drones Martyn 5:54 Buy
  5. 5 Love of Pleasure Martyn & copeland 4:00 Buy

    Love of Pleasure

  6. 6 Two Leads and a Computer Martyn 6:38 Buy

    Two Leads and a Computer

  7. 7 Forgiveness Step 2 Martyn 6:41 Buy

    Forgiveness Step 2

  8. 8 Like That Martyn 6:22 Buy
  9. 9 Lullaby Martyn 3:13 Buy
  10. 10 Fashion Skater Martyn 5:53 Buy

    Fashion Skater


View More


Ninja Tune

View More


View More


View More

Album of the Week

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences