Item added to your basket.

The Slits
4 Men With Beards
Catalogue Number
Release Date
March 2014

Raucous amateurishness meets canonical import on Cut, the debut album from The Slits. Recorded in 1979, and produced by Dennis Bovell, it saw Ari Up and co transcend the technical inability that marked their early performances and create a work that would help define the post-punk sound into the 1980s, as well as prefiguring the riot grrrl movement that would follow a decade later. The political is personal on 'Typical Girls', while 'Instant Hit' warns against the perils of drug addiction. A bevy of Afro-Caribbean rhythms and sounds underpin these forthright lessons, and an air of genuine fun pervades the album. Yes, it's become historically 'worthy', but it's a damn good party too.

Read More
  1. 1 Instant Hit The Slits 0:52
  2. 2 So Tough The Slits 1:01
  3. 3 Spend Spend Spend The Slits 1:02
  4. 4 Shoplifting The Slits 1:03
  5. 5 FM The Slits 1:04
  6. 6 Newtown The Slits 1:02
  7. 7 Ping Pong Affair The Slits 1:01
  8. 8 Love & Romance The Slits 1:06
  9. 9 Typical Girls The Slits 1:02
  10. 10 Adventures Close To Home The Slits 1:04

4 Men With Beards


Vinyl Reissue

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.