Item added to your cart.

John Cage
Early Electronic & Tape Music
Sub Rosa
Catalogue Number
Release Date
April 4, 2014


Sub Rosa present a beautiful collection of experimental genius John Cage’s early electronic tape music, with faithful realisations of pieces conceived of from 1952 to 1962 provided by the Langham Research Centre. From the anarchic collaging of ‘Fontana Mix’ and ‘Imaginary Landscape’, which contains one of the first ever instances of turntabilism, to the extended hissing drones of ‘Variations I’, the release showcases the visionary work of the avant-garde composer succinctly and engagingly. Though radical at the time, it is intriguing to note the manner in which Cage’s noisey tape experiments have become commonplace in DIY music cultures since, as much as within the rarified world of avant-garde composition.

  1. 1 Fontana Mix (With Aria) 0:59
  2. 2 Imaginary Landscape No.5 0:59
  3. 3 WBAI 0:59
  4. 4 Cartridge Music 0:59
  5. 5 O'OO 0:59
  6. 6 Variations I 0:59

John Cage

Sub Rosa

View More

Early Electronics

View More

1950s and earlier

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences