Item added to your basket.

The Epic of Everest
Simon Fisher Turner
The Epic of Everest
Catalogue Number
Release Date
October 2013
Gift This Product

Legendary synth label Mute release a beguiling film score from Simon Fisher Turner, coinciding with the restoration of 1924’s ‘The Epic of Everest’. The record gives the full sense of the magnitude of such a hike, with crackly synth drones and the sound of Cosey Fanni Tutti’s trumpet creating a swelling anticipation in ‘Makalu’, and undulating electronic patterns reminiscent of endless walking dominating ‘Nanga Parbat’. The album’s most alluring moments are when there is an even greater sense of place: ‘Alma Dablam’ is like listening to indigenous singing through a layer of frost, ‘Cho Oyu’ has the sounds of perhaps cutlery melted in with a distant string tune.

Read More

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Chomolungma (From "The Epic of Everest") 8:11 Simon Fisher Turner Buy
  2. 2 Makalu (From "The Epic of Everest") 4:20 Simon Fisher Turner Buy
  3. 3 Lhotse (From "The Epic of Everest") 2:49 Simon Fisher Turner Buy
  4. 4 Cho Oyu (From "The Epic of Everest") 6:12 Simon Fisher Turner Buy
  5. 5 Dhaulagiri (From "The Epic of Everest") 2:42 Simon Fisher Turner Buy
  6. 6 Manaslu (From "The Epic of Everest") 3:12 Simon Fisher Turner Buy
  7. 7 Nanga Parbat (From "The Epic of Everest") 4:36 Simon Fisher Turner Buy
  8. 8 Annapurna (From "The Epic of Everest") 4:51 Simon Fisher Turner Buy
  9. 9 Gasherbrum (From "The Epic of Everest") 4:03 Simon Fisher Turner Buy
  10. 10 Broad Peak (From "The Epic of Everest") 3:28 Simon Fisher Turner Buy
Show All 16 Tracks

Simon Fisher Turner


View More

Ambient and Modern Classical

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.