Item added to your basket.

Restless Idylls
Tropic Of Cancer
Restless Idylls
Blackest Ever Black
Catalogue Number
Release Date
September 2013
Gift This Product

Since their inception in 2009, Tropic Of Cancer's chilling post-punk has amassed them a loyal following. Blackest Ever Black are behind their full length album 'Restless Idylls', a bleak, deadpan but darkly romantic record. With original co-founder Juan Mendez now departed, it's a solo effort by LA's Camella Lobo. However, Downwards head Karl O'Connor lends a veteran's touch with additional production duties. Opening with the icy, synthesised landscape of 'Plant Lillies At My Head', Lobo progresses through drum-machine driven, doomy cold-wave - 'Court Of Devotion' - sparse and ghostly, glimmering guitars - 'Hardest Day' - and ragged, yearning, drone - 'More Alone'. As the final pattering drums and shards of synthesizer uncurl on final track 'Rites Of The Wild', it becomes clear that this is a personal album for one so steely, grandiose drama rippling through its dark depths, emotions sounding like they are balanced on the edge of a knife.

Read More

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Plant Lilies at My Head Tropic Of Cancer 4:28 Buy
  2. 2 Court of Devotion Tropic Of Cancer 5:14 Buy
  3. 3 Hardest Day Tropic Of Cancer 6:43 Buy
  4. 4 Children of a Lesser God Tropic Of Cancer 7:31 Buy
  5. 5 More Alone (Album Version) Tropic Of Cancer 4:43 Buy
  6. 6 The Seasons Won't Change (And Neither Will You) Tropic Of Cancer 4:44 Buy
  7. 7 Wake the Night Tropic Of Cancer 5:58 Buy
  8. 8 Rites of the Wild Tropic Of Cancer 2:45 Buy

Tropic Of Cancer

Blackest Ever Black

Minimal Wave and Post-punk

Album of the Week

Albums of the Year 2013

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.