Item added to your cart.

Warp Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
October 10, 2013

Instant MP3 download with all Vinyl / CD purchases.


Kwes’ debut album ‘ilp’ delivered on the promise of a tantalising run of EPs for the likes of Warp and Young Turks with ten tracks of immaculate soul-pop. From the restrained placement of choice elements on ‘Flower’, where a grainy delayed vocal and throbbing naïve synths recall an earthier James Blake, to the punchier ‘36’, the album is dominated by a subtle pleasure in both revelling in, and screwing with, conventional song formats.

Kwes’ raw and emotional vocals lend a warmth to the full length which gives it a tangible ‘live’ quality, especially on the heartbreaking ‘Broke’, where fuzzy shoegaze guitars make an unusual but affecting sparring partner. There is nonetheless a precision to the production which will appeal to fans of finely wrought electronic music, with bass squelches on ‘Rollerblades’ delivering real heft but with a charming sense of wear and tear, and ‘B_shf_l’ containing a rattling hip-hop shuffle despite its confessional vocal delivery. ‘ilp’ seems to be an intriguing document of where Warp stand after nearly a quarter a century of independently releasing music, with Kwes every bit the idiosyncratic musician in the vein of the label’s classic artists, but adopting a more playful and understated approach to the tropes of electronic and pop music.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Purplehands 5:13 Buy
  2. 2 36 4:03 Buy
  3. 3 Rollerblades 3:45 Buy
  4. 4 Cablecar 8:01 Buy
  5. 5 Flower 4:37 Buy
  6. 6 Hives 3:29 Buy
  7. 7 Broke 4:23 Buy
  8. 8 Chagall 2:41 Buy
  9. 9 Parakeet 2:28 Buy
  10. 10 B_shf_l 4:10 Buy


View More

Warp Records

View More

Electronic and Electronica

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences