Item added to your basket.

Yussef Dayes
Black Classical Music
Brownswood Recordings
Catalogue Number
Release Date
8 September 2023


South London multi-hyphenate Yussef Dayes strikes out on his own with Black Classical Music, his debut solo LP for Brownswood Recordings. Known for his rhythmic work within the familial Afrobeat/jazz fusion group United Vibrations and the duo Yussef Kamaal, Black Classical Music marks a break from Dayes’ revered accompaniment in favour of a musical statement all his own. Inspired by Jazz greats like Miles and Rahsaan Roland Kirk, the LP also plays around with metres and instrumentation from all over the globe, no doubt influenced by Dayes’ travels in his former combos. Stunning in length and loaded with guests, Black Classical Music is a coming out party of epic proportions.

Track List

  1. A1. Black Classical Music ft. Venna & Charlie Stacey
  2. A2. Afro Cubanism
  3. A3. Raisins Under The Sun ft. Shabaka Hutchings
  4. A4. Rust ft. Tom Misch
  5. A5. Turquoise Galaxy
  6. B1. The Light ft. Bahia Dayes
  7. B2. Pon Di Plaza ft. Chronixx
  8. B3. Magnolia Symphony
  9. B4. Early Dayes
  10. B5. Chasing The Drum
  11. C1. Birds Of Paradise
  12. C2. Gelato
  13. C3. Marching Band ft. Masego
  14. C4. Crystal Palace Park ft. Elijah Fox
  15. C5. Presidential ft. Jahaan Sweet
  16. D1. Jukebox
  17. D2. Woman's Touch ft. Jamilah Barry
  18. D3. Tioga Pass ft. Rocco Palladino
  19. D4. Cowrie Charms ft. Leon Thomas & Barbara Hicks
  • Black Classical Music

  • Black Classical Music

Yussef Dayes

Brownswood Recordings

View More


View More

Afrobeat / Alté / Amapiano

View More

Limited Editions

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences