Item added to your cart.

Display Artist
Owiny Sigoma Band
Nyanza (Bleep Exclusive Version)
Brownswood Recordings
Catalogue Number
Release Date
August 28, 2015

Giles Peterson’s globetrotting Brownswood stable presents this third LP from the indefinable Owiny Sigoma Band. Joseph Nyamungu and Charles Owoko - two members of the outfit - hail from the Nyanza Province of Kenya. To write and record this record, the band journeyed to that area to learn more about Luo music and the realities of life in the province. Nyanza is both politically-informed and joyfully broad-based. There is a spontaneity to these recordings which can only be captured when artists are learning while they are creating. From the live-jam energy of Fisherman’s Camp to the lo-fi electronic pulse of Changaa Attack- this is an infectious, unpredictable and truly uplifting full-length.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 (Nairobi) Too Hot 3:26 Buy

    (Nairobi) Too Hot

  2. 2 Luo Land 4:46 Buy
  3. 3 Owour Won Gembe 4:23 Buy

    Owour Won Gembe

  4. 4 I Made You / You Made Me 2:40 Buy

    I Made You / You Made Me

  5. 5 Fisherman's Camp, Pt. 1 1:04 Buy

    Fisherman's Camp, Pt. 1

  6. 6 Ojoni Wopio 4:32 Buy
  7. 7 Nyanza Night 4:16 Buy
  8. 8 Tech 9 5:55 Buy
  9. 9 Deep Kisumu Fish 3:27 Buy

    Deep Kisumu Fish

  10. 10 Changaa Attack 2:57 Buy

    Changaa Attack

  11. 11 Jah Mic 3:39 Buy
  12. 12 Amolo Tienga 3:46 Buy
  13. 13 Odiambo Odoor Obiendo (Bonus Track) 7:34 Buy

    Odiambo Odoor Obiendo (Bonus Track)

Owiny Sigoma Band

View More

Brownswood Recordings

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences