Item added to your cart.

The Caretaker
Patience (After Sebald)
History Always Favours the Winners
Catalogue Number
Release Date
March 20, 2012


As James Leyland Kirby begins to wind down his time as The Caretaker, we should all take a moment to appreciate the strides he has made via the project. 2012’s Patience (After Sebald) was the first Caretaker project to see the light of day after Kirby’s acclaimed LP An Empty Bliss Beyond This World. Conceived as a soundtrack to Grant Gee’s documentary on German writer W. G. Sebald, he eschews the sampling spectrum of An Empty Bliss... (20s and 30s ballroom jazz) to focus on the manipulation of one piece - Franz Schubert’s 1827 song cycle Winterreise. Sometimes Kirby smudges the record with reverb; sometimes he swamps it in distortion; sometimes he lets the crackle of vinyl slowly creep in until it dominates the source material. Whatever his treatment, the results are never less than brilliant.

  1. 1 Everything is on the point of decline 1:03
  2. 2 As If One Was Sinking Into Sand 1:01
  3. 3 Approaching The Outer Limits Of Our Solar System 1:08
  4. 4 When The Dog Days Were Drawing To An End 1:02
  5. 5 A Last Glimpse Of The Land Being Lost Forever 1:06
  6. 6 The Homesickness That Was Corroding Her Soul 1:08
  7. 7 I Have Become Almost Invisible, To Some Extent Like A Dead Man 1:06
  8. 8 In The Deep And Dark Hours Of The Night 1:00
  9. 9 No One Knows What Shadowy Memories Haunt Them To This Day 1:08
  10. 10 Increasingly Absorbed In His Own World 1:03
  11. 11 Isolated Lights In The Abyss Of Ignorance 1:04
  12. 12 Now The Night Is Over And The Dawn Is About To Break 0:58

The Caretaker

History Always Favours the Winners

Experimental and Noise

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences