Item added to your cart.

The Mole
The River Widens
Circus Company
Catalogue Number
Release Date
January 20, 2023

Press Release

One of our all-time favourite artists and extended Circus Company member The Mole returns to the label for a proper presentation of his album The River Widens. Originally a limited, cassette-only release via fellow Canadian Eddie C’s Red Motorbike, we are proud to offer this album in its full glory for the first time on all formats.

Never one to shy away from synth deep dives, or raw sample flip collaging, this collection of 21 works checks all the boxes. Ambient trippers to straight up neck-snapping instrumental beats. Not forgetting tastes of the more uptempo, highly-assured and hypnotic dance floor feels the world has come to love The Mole for. Moments of casual chillin are interspersed with effortless, emotive angles, some evoking the charm of his Little Sunshine release for us in 2017.

X-pert Profat opens the set with sly statements that give way to relaxed and subtle keys over gentle, mid tempo rhythms. Things switch up nicely into easy, Northwest Coast boogie-meets-beatdown feels inBreak For Ma, followed by a solid array of almost Jaylib-schooled boom bap twists, like the aptly-titledDrums 2002 and Jo Barker. Ambient cuts like AR Dayand New Family offer a refreshing tap of the brakes, setting the scene for the gorgeous, Jarre-esque Weak Stranger. We also get treated to Repepepater’s nod to Detroit house, urban-mode Balearic feels on They Work For Mr. O, and sneak attack lo-fi future funk in the form of UFOs Over Egypt, with Montreal co-pilot Cristobal on a wild shisha-lit vox narrative, earlier versions of which have blessed many of our label comrades’ DJ sets, from Dave Aju to Vincent Lemieux.

The River Widens expands beautifully on the breadth of unique musical directions The Mole is capable of taking us in, now spread across fresh 2x12” vinyl and available digitally for the first time, along with another limited edition cassette run - we hope you enjoy the ride as much as we do!

  1. 1 X-pert Profat 1:00
  2. 2 Break For Ma 1:00
  3. 3 Drums 0:59
  4. 4 Ducklings 1:00
  5. 5 #ew_horseplay 1:00

Track List

  1. X-pert Profat
  2. Break For Ma
  3. Drums
  4. Ducklings
  5. #ew_horseplay
  6. Jo Barker
  7. AR Day
  8. New Family
  9. Repepepater (feat Joli B)
  10. Clean Father
  11. Ambient Jams 3
  12. July 11 Creepy (feat Ted Pilsner)
  13. Brain Bed
  14. Roxy Dancer
  15. Summer Storm
  16. They Work For Mr O
  17. Tricky Dees Dumm Dumm
  18. Ufos Over Egypt (feat Cristobal)
  19. Weak Stranger
  20. XMods In The Living Room
  21. Being A Total Warm Up

The Mole

View More

Circus Company

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences