Item added to your cart.

Display Artist
Alva Noto, Ryuichi Sakamoto
Summvs (Remaster)
Catalogue Number
Release Date
May 9, 2011

Instant MP3 download with all Vinyl / CD purchases.


Alva Noto and Ryuichi Sakomoto’s near-decade long V.I.R.U.S. series saw the pair break new ground in the ambient sphere simply by leaning into their respective strengths. Sakomoto’s haunting piano work and Alva Noto’s digitally decaying samples proved to be natural bedfellows whether they were chasing glitchy interference (as on 2002’s Vrioon) or droning repetition (2008’s utp_). The final piece of the puzzle, 2011’s Summvs acts then as a sort of epilogue, a tidy summation of their progress in collaboration. Even its title pays tribute: a portamento of the Latin “summa” and “versus” loosely translated as towards a sum. The German label NOTON has been periodically reissuing the entire series leading up to this thrilling conclusion, which includes a fresh remaster as well as two previously unheard rarities. Through this lens Summvs still remains a singular entry in both Noto and Sakomoto’s tremendous catalogues.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Microon I 3:06 Buy
  2. 2 Reverso 7:00 Buy
  3. 3 Halo 7:10 Buy
  4. 4 Microon II 2:39 Buy
  5. 5 Pionier IOO 5:47 Buy
  6. 6 Ionoscan 4:09 Buy
  7. 7 By This River 4:03 Buy
  8. 8 Naono 11:20 Buy
  9. 9 Microon III 3:02 Buy
  10. 10 By This River – Phantom 8:08 Buy

    By This River – Phantom

  11. 11 Monomom 5:31 Buy
  12. 12 Kizuna 5:42 Buy

Alva Noto, Ryuichi Sakamoto


View More

Ambient and Modern Classical

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences