Item added to your cart.

Planet Mu Records Ltd.
Catalogue Number
Release Date
October 13, 2011


Vex'd go their separate ways as one half scales the disorientating heights of the new Roly Porter material, and the other takes on their Kuedo pseudonym for a stripped-down excursion into a tyrannical future-land of undetermined fate. Mechanical in its form and structure, Kuedo's despotic world is further encouraged by the whirring helicopter-like effects and his preferred percussive element: the snare. Quite how Kuedo makes this all sound so beautiful and tender is any wonder.

10th Anniversary Edition Press Release

We are excited to reissue Kuedo's classic 2011 album 'Severant' on double vinyl for the first time, and with a bonus track 'Work, Live & Sleep In Collapsing Space'. The cover artwork has been redesigned by Raf Rennie (Who also designed Kuedo's recent album on Brainfeeder, Infinite Window). In terms of feeling, ‘Severant’ explores the space between the detached world of the imagination and the real-time world; that feeling of coming out of a daydream, on the edge of the drift from the day-to-day grind. Jamie says of this moment ”As reality shapes imagination and escapism affects your choices in the real world, there is a strange relational loop between the two and the space in between the two. There’s a bitter sweetness in that gap, it has a certain emotive quality, kind of in between being and non-being”. Again, musically ‘Severant’ is inspired by related themes. It sounds as if it’s in a sweet spot between the emotive, innately futurist synth soundtracks of Tangerine Dream and Vangelis, borne from a time when the very idea of futurism was more prevalent, in combination with musical ideas and inspiration from the emotionally ambivalent, materialist fantasies of ‘coke rap‘ such as The Clipse. Rhythmically the record is influenced by what Jamie calls ”the two ultra modern musics of modern times”, footwork from Chicago, which Planet Mu has explored in depth on its recent releases, and again the drum machine grids of coke rap. Jamie says ”I wanted to capture a really futurist sentiment, kind of melancholy and grand luminescent, so I used the instrument that most evokes that for me - that sweeping Vangelis brass sound.” And on coke rap he talks about the emotional ‘half being’ of the music, the energetically charged, detached ambivalence of the MCs, and the admission that the MCs could be ”fantasising without admitting to doing so.”

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Visioning Shared Tomorrows 2:02 Buy

    Visioning Shared Tomorrows

  2. 2 Ant City 3:24 Buy
  3. 3 Whisper Fate 2:45 Buy
  4. 4 Onset (Escapism) 3:02 Buy

    Onset (Escapism)

  5. 5 Scissors 3:33 Buy
  6. 6 Truth Flood 3:42 Buy
  7. 7 Reality Drift 2:18 Buy
  8. 8 Ascension Phase 2:50 Buy

    Ascension Phase

  9. 9 Salt Lake Cuts 5:12 Buy

    Salt Lake Cuts

  10. 10 Seeing The Edges 3:37 Buy

    Seeing The Edges

  11. 11 Flight Path 4:45 Buy
  12. 12 Shutter Light Girl 1:07 Buy

    Shutter Light Girl

  13. 13 Vectoral 3:04 Buy
  14. 14 As We Lie Promising 0:56 Buy

    As We Lie Promising

  15. 15 Memory Rain 3:43 Buy


View More

Planet Mu Records Ltd.

View More

Electronic and Electronica

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences