Item added to your cart.

Sarathy Korwar
The Leaf Label
Catalogue Number
Release Date
November 11, 2022

Pre-order Information

Please note that pre-order release dates are estimates based on the latest information we have from our suppliers. Changes or delays are possible.

Press Release

Sarathy Korwar returns with new album KALAK. The follow up to the politically charged, award-winning More Arriving is an Indo-futurist manifesto - in rhythmic step with the past and the present, it sets out to describe a route forward. It celebrates a rich South Asian culture of music and literature, which resonates with spirituality and community, while envisaging a better future from those building blocks. More Arriving - a candid reflection of Korwar’s experience of being an Indian in a divided Britain - won Best Independent Album at the 2020 AIM Awards, beating out the likes of Nick Cave and Kim Gordon. It was also awarded MOJO’s Jazz Album of the Year and was shortlisted for Gilles Peterson’s Worldwide Awards, the Jazz FM Awards and the Songlines Awards.

  • Recorded at Real World Studios, with The Comet Is Coming’s Danalogue on synths, Tamar Osborn on baritone sax, Al MacSween on keys and percussionist Magnus Mehta.
  • The album also features vocals by Kushal Gaya of Melt Yourself Down and Mumbai-based producer and electronic artist Noni-Mouse, as well as a track recorded with Japanese drum ensemble Kodo.
  • Producer Photay remixed a track on Korwar’s debut album, Day To Day, and has also worked with Yazmin Lacey, Madison McFerrin, Steve Spacek and Jordan Rakei.
  • First single ‘Utopia Is A Colonial Project’ is accompanied by a nocturnal, neon-lit dance video by Elliott Gonzo (Perfidious Productions), starring award winning choregrapher/dancer Botis Seva.
  • Korwar’s debut Day To Day (Ninja Tune, 2016), combined the folk rhythms of India’s Sidi community with contemporary electronics and jazz textures, earning praise from the likes of Four Tet, Gilles Peterson and Floating Points.
  • In 2018, he followed up with the live UPAJ Collective album, My East Is Your West (Gearbox), a critically-acclaimed take on the cultural appropriation of ‘spiritual’ Indo-jazz.
  • Korwar has established himself as one of the most original and compelling voices in the UK jazz scene, collaborating with the likes of Shabaka Hutchings, Arun Ghosh, Hieroglyphic Being, Auntie Flo and Bex Burch (as Flock).
  • He has toured with Kamasi Washington, Yussef Kamaal and Moses Boyd and was invited to perform at the prestigious New York Winter Jazz Festival in 2020.
  • Each format features a different cover image with photography by Fabrice Bourgelle.
  • All formats include an 8-page booklet, created by Sijya Gupta, with Korwar’s notes on the concepts behind the project.

Track List

  1. A1. A Recipe To Cure Historical Amnesia
  2. A2. To Remember (feat. Kushal Gaya)
  3. A3. Utopia Is A Colonial Project
  4. A4. Back In The Day, Things Were Not Always Simpler (feat. Noni-Mouse)
  5. A5. The Past Is Not Only Behind Us, But Ahead Of Us
  6. B1. Kal Means Yesterday And Tomorrow
  7. B2. Remember Begum Rokheya
  8. B3. That Clocks Don’t Tell But Make Time (feat. Kodo)
  9. B4. Remember Circles Are Better Than Lines
  10. B5. Remember To Look Out For The Signs
  11. B6. KALAK - A Means To An Unend

Sarathy Korwar

The Leaf Label

View More

Limited Editions

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences