Item added to your cart.

Various Artists
OZ Days Live : ‘72 -’73 Kichijoji The 50th Anniversary Collection
Temporal Drift
Catalogue Number
Release Date
October 14, 2022
  • CD Boxset 3×CD

    Read More


    • Deluxe hardbound 100 page book
    • Remastered expanded special edition of the 1973 release
    • Bonus unreleased tracks

    This item is not in stock, but is available from our suppliers. Estimated shipping in 14 days.

    Stock on order, expected soon.

  • Expanded special edition of the 1973 release
  • Deluxe hardbound book
  • 100+ page oral history of the OZ scene, including a Japanese translation
  • Bonus tracks & 40+ minutes of unreleased music by Acid Seven
  • Newly transferred and restored tracks from Masato Minami and Miyako Ochi
  • Remastered from the original analog tapes by Makoto Kubota

Press Release

OZ DAYS LIVE was originally released in 1973 as a private press two-disc set, packaged in a brown paper bag with its album title hand-stamped in rainbow-colored ink. The self-distributed record was made to commemorate the closure of OZ, the now-legendary venue located in the Kichijoji neighborhood of Tokyo. Operating out of a small upstairs space just around the corner from the train station, OZ was a scruffy, DIY affair that lasted not much more than a year. Over the course of its short existence from June 1972 to September 1973, the cafe and performance space became the nerve center for the city’s burgeoning underground and counterculture set. The OZ DAYS LIVE LP, now an incredibly rare collector’s item, featured five different artists spread over four vinyl sides, on recordings made right at OZ.

Now, 50 years after OZ first opened its doors, we are incredibly excited to offer OZ DAYS LIVE ‘72-’73 Kichijoji: The 50th Anniversary Collection, a reconfigured special edition of the original LP. Available as a 3CD set, the new collection includes all the tracks from the recently released Les Rallizes Dénudés’ The OZ Tapes, plus bonus tracks from the same sessions that were first released in 2022 on a limited edition 12”. The set also includes newly remastered versions of the Masato Minami and Miyako Ochi tracks from the original release, plus over 40 minutes of previously unreleased OZ recordings from Acid Seven, newly unearthed from reel-to-reel tapes that had been stored away for half a century by OZ manager Minoru Tezuka. A newly written 100-page oral history, compiled from hours of interviews, provides first-hand accounts of what made the OZ scene so special.

“I think that a record is a nutrient for the soul, and each one allows people to see (and hear) a particular situation,” Tezuka told The Shinpu Journal (The New Music Journal) at the time of OZ DAYS LIVE’s release. “That makes it ‘music’ purely by definition, and it can’t possibly be anything else.” It may be a bit difficult to decipher what he meant by these existential musings, but one thing is clear: that music is timeless, and records like OZ DAYS LIVE allow us to participate in an experience that would otherwise be lost to time.

Track List

  1. OZ Days - Les Rallizes Dénudés
  2. 僕らの喜びに影がさした (A Shadow on Our Joy) - Les Rallizes Dénudés
  3. 造花の原野 (Wilderness of False Flowers) - Les Rallizes Dénudés
  4. 白い目覚め (White Awakening) - Les Rallizes Dénudés
  5. The Last One_1970 - Les Rallizes Dénudés
  6. 記憶は遠い (Memory is Far Away) - Les Rallizes Dénudés
  7. 眩暈 (Vertigo otherwise My Conviction) - Les Rallizes Dénudés
  8. The Last One_1970 (ver. 2) - Les Rallizes Dénudés
  9. 僕らの喜びに影がさした (A Shadow on Our Joy) (ver. 2) - Les Rallizes Dénudés
  10. 造花の原野 (Wilderness of False Flowers) (ver. 2) - Les Rallizes Dénudés
  11. 海が見えるあの丘へ (Improvisation) - Masato Minami
  12. 愛の絆 (Ai No Kizuna) - Masato Minami
  13. 夜をくぐり抜けるまで (Yoru Wo Kugurinukeru Made) - Masato Minami
  14. I Shall Be Released - Masato Minami
  15. Shake Your Money Maker - Miyako Ochi
  16. Kansas City - Miyako Ochi
  17. Twist & Shout - Miyako Ochi
  18. 寿の朝 (Kotobuki No Asa) - Acid Seven 07:20
  19. もう帰らない (Mou Kaeranai) - Acid Seven
  20. 風よ吹きまくれ涙は枯れる光の中に (Kaze Yo Fukimakure Namida Wa Kareru Hikari No Naka Ni) - Acid Seven
  21. 帰らなくちゃ (Kaeranakucha) - Acid Seven
  22. ピエロがやってきた (Piero Ga Yatte Kita) - Acid Seven
  23. 横浜へおいでよ (Yokohama E Oideyo) - Acid Seven
  24. あの頃、僕は若かった (Ano Koro, Boku Wa Wakakatta) - Acid Seven

Temporal Drift

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences