Item added to your cart.

Display Artist
Horace Andy
Midnight Scorchers
On-U Sound
Catalogue Number
Release Date
September 16, 2022
  • Bundle:

    • Midnight Scorchers Vinyl, 1×LP, Limited Coloured Transparent orange vinyl

    • Midnight Rocker Vinyl, 1×LP, Limited Coloured Gold vinyl

    • On-U Sound On-U Sound Logo Slipmat Slipmat On-U Sound Logo Slipmat

    • + WAV / FLAC

    Available: September 16, 2022

Instant WAV / FLAC download with all Vinyl / Vinyl / CD / Bundle purchases.


The resurgence of Horace Andy continues with yet another smoking collection of reggae dubs and dancehall reworks on the legendary On-U Sound entitled Midnight Scorchers. A performer with over 50 years experience in the music business, most in the electronic music world have gotten to know him through his guest vocal work with Massive Attack or touring of his 1970’s Jamaican hits. On-U’s prior Midnight Rocker LP from earlier in 2022 looked to switch things up by showcasing Andy's remarkable skill as a vocalist and arranger. A veritable tour-de-force pieced together over several years, Midnight Rocker has received stellar reviews from key voices in the music press, and is currently in its fifth pressing - now On-U is now adding fuel to the fire with Midnight Scorchers.

In the Jamaican tradition of dubs, guest toasting, and versions, Midnight Scorchers gathers up reworks (both instrumental remixes and new editions with added vocal cuts) alongside stray tracks from the Rocker sessions that did not fit into the original sequencing. Like the title track, many of these songs take the bones of Andy’s work on Rocker and blow it out to much headier zones with the use of dub echo. Best of all though, is the redone ‘Feverish’ - a quintessential tune from Andy’s Studio One days, this new version adds an almost jazzy hyperactive drum break that places it firmly in the contemporary style of today. In the same spirit of reworking sounds to stress different rhythms and timbres, the album art for Rocker has also been re-jigged into graffiti by the animator Ruff Mercy, making this a fitting tribute to a legend of reggae.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Come After Midnight 4:26 Buy

    Come After Midnight

  2. 2 Midnight Scorcher 4:54 Buy

    Midnight Scorcher

  3. 3 Away With The Gun And Knife 3:35 Buy

    Away With The Gun And Knife

  4. 4 Dirty Money Business 3:43 Buy

    Dirty Money Business

  5. 5 Sleepy’s Night Cap 2:59 Buy

    Sleepy’s Night Cap

  6. 6 Feverish 4:09 Buy
  7. 7 Ain’t No Love In The Heart Of The City 3:35 Buy

    Ain’t No Love In The Heart Of The City

  8. 8 Dub Guidance 4:30 Buy
  9. 9 More Bassy 3:34 Buy
  10. 10 Hell And Back 3:47 Buy

Horace Andy

View More

On-U Sound

View More

Dub, Reggae and Dancehall

View More

Limited Editions

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences