Item added to your cart.

Lunatic Harness (25th Anniversary Edition)
Planet Mu Records Ltd.
Catalogue Number
Release Date
July 8, 2022

Pre-order Information

Please note that pre-order release dates are estimates based on the latest information we have from our suppliers. Changes or delays are possible.

Mike Paradinas had been prolific in the 90s with a handful of albums that displayed his playful and inventive approach to production, but it was his 4th album that would cement him as one of the true auteurs of electronic music. Released in 1997 and highly acclaimed ever since, Lunatic Harness is a standout in µ-Ziq’s discography and in the electronic canon altogether. It broke onto the burgeoning scenes of drill ‘n’ bass and breakcore and with complete disregard for previous conventions in the process. For the album’s 25th anniversary, this expanded edition ties up all of the era’s loose ends including the My Little Beautiful and Brace Yourself EPs along with more unreleased material.

The title of Lunatic Harness speaks to µ-Ziq’s unique position at the time, surrounding himself with left of centre ideas and exploring musical pathways previously unknown to humanity. This is portrayed as intensely on the eager optimism of ‘Blainville’ as it is on the murkier ‘Wannabe’ where an unexpected shade is revealed with it’s ominously wailing foghorns - a prime example of µ-Ziq’s affinity for sound design and experimental, creative attitude.

Opening with explosive percussion and jazzy chords, ‘Brace Yourself Jason’ acts a microcosm of the whole album, its emotional progressions flowing naturally through synth solos and warped breaks. The title track’s hyperventilating helium rush of break-beatboxing gives way to a whimsical and airy techno sequence, contrasted by the drum and bass annihilation of ‘Approaching Menace’ right after.

An undeniable classic, Lunatic Harness is a testament to µ-Ziq’s influential production, a legacy that he continues to build upon.

4xLP Boxset Track List

A: 1/Brace Yourself Jason 2/Hasty Boom Alert 3/Mushroom Compost

B: 1/Blainville 2/Lunatic Harness 3/Approaching Menace

C: 1/ My Little Beautiful 2/ Secret Stair Pt.1 3/ Secret Stair Pt.2 4/ Wannabe

D: 1/ Catkin and Teasel 2/ London 3/ Midwinter Log

E: 1/ Hanky Pokery 2/ Jiggery Panky 3/ Worcester 4/ The Cut Of My Jib

F: 1/ Lunatic Harness (Original Demo) 2/ Lunatic Harness (Remix) 3/ Mr. Angry (Remix)

G: 1/ Brace Yourself (Remix) 2/ Kubba 3/ Vaken Bolt 4/ Losers' March

H: 1/ Summer Living 2 2/ Intellitag 3/ Abmoit 4/ Brace Yourself (Reprise)


View More

Planet Mu Records Ltd.

View More

Limited Editions

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences