Item added to your cart.

Bartees Strange
Farm to Table
Catalogue Number
Release Date
June 17, 2022

Pre-order Information

Please note that pre-order release dates are estimates based on the latest information we have from our suppliers. Changes or delays are possible.

Bartees Strange announces his new album and 4AD debut, Farm to Table,

Farm to Table, which also includes recent single ‘Heavy Heart’, is the second album from Washington D.C. resident Bartees Leon Cox Jr.. Where his 2020 debut record Live Forever introduced the experiences and places that shaped Bartees (Flagey Brussels, Mustang Oklahoma), Farm to Table zeros in on the people – specifically his family – and those closest to him on his journey so far. With his career firmly on the ascent, Farm to Table examines Bartees’ constantly shapeshifting relationship with life post-Live Forever. It also speaks to a deeper lore that says, don’t forget where you came from, and this album is why. Always remembering where he came from, across 10 songs Bartees is celebrating the past, moving towards the future, and fully appreciating the present.

An unapologetic and braggadocious indie-trap banger, new single ‘Cosigns’ celebrates Bartees’ peers, collaborators and friends; name-checking the likes of Bon Iver, Phoebe Bridgers, Courtney Barnett, Lucy Dacus, through a genre-defying outpouring somewhere between swaggering hip hop and euphoric alt rock. The song ends on a poem he wrote in his early 20s, “I don’t know how to be full, it’s the hardest to know, I keep consuming I can’t give it up, It’s never enough.” ‘Cosigns’ is also a moment for Bartees to acknowledge himself, giving himself credence and unashamedly basking in that glow. Its accompanying official video was directed by Pooneh Ghana.

About Bartees Strange

Born in Ipswich, England to a military father and opera-singer mother Bartees had a peripatetic early childhood before eventually settling in Mustang, Oklahoma. Later, Bartees cut his teeth playing in hardcore bands in Washington D.C. and Brooklyn whilst working in the Barack Obama administration and (eventually) the environmental movement. Since charting a path as a solo artist, Bartees Strange has released two records in quick succession: an EP reimagining songs by The National (Say Goodbye To Pretty Boy, 2020) and his debut album proper Live Forever (2020).

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Heavy Heart 4:23 Buy
  2. 2 Mulholland Dr. 4:01 Buy

    Mulholland Dr.

  3. 3 Wretched 3:49 Buy
  4. 4 Cosigns 2:35 Buy
  5. 5 Tours 2:43 Buy
  6. 6 Hold The Line 4:23 Buy
  7. 7 We Were Only Close For Like Two Weeks 0:58 Buy

    We Were Only Close For Like Two Weeks

  8. 8 Escape This Circus 3:26 Buy

    Escape This Circus

  9. 9 Black Gold 3:38 Buy
  10. 10 Hennessy 4:18 Buy

CD Track List

  1. Heavy heart
  2. Mulholland Dr.
  3. Wretched
  4. Cosigns
  5. Tours
  6. Hold The Line
  7. We Were Only Close For Like Two Weeks
  8. Escape This Circus
  9. Black Gold
  10. Hennessy

LP Track List

A1. Heavy heart
A2. Mulholland Dr.
A3. Wretched
A4. Cosigns
A5. Tours
B1. Hold The Line
B2. We Were Only Close For Like Two Weeks
B3. Escape This Circus
B4. Daily News (Vinyl Only Track)
B5. Black Gold
B6. Hennessy

Bartees Strange

View More


View More

Limited Editions

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences