Item added to your cart.

Display Artist
Metal Preyers
Shadow Swamps
Nyege Nyege Tapes
Catalogue Number
Release Date
November 18, 2022


Press Release

Following 2019's acclaimed self-titled debut album, Metal Preyers take the left hand path into a gloomy backwater filled with haunted creatures and fraught with peril. "Shadow Swamps" again finds London-based Jesse Hackett handling the music and Chicago's Mariano Chavez fashioning the album's visual identity, which this time includes a short film and book for a fully immersive experience. "Shadow Swamps" is the soundtrack to a pitch-black fairy tale about a father and daughter as they journey through a swamp avoiding gremlins, red swines and crater creatures. Musically, it pivots between the clattering Czech new wave experimentation of "Valerie and her Week of Wonders" composer Luboš Fišer, or the magical, eccentric lounge of Birmingham's Broadcast, and the grinding industrial grot of Italian pioneer Maurizio Bianchi. This time around, Hackett has roped in production assists from his six year-old-daughter wonder Nyasha hackett who used phone memos to record herself singing - veteran Metal Preyers collaborator Lord Tusk, and Manchester-based painter, DJ and producer Richard Harris, aka Sockethead. The crew inks an unsettling, richly textured sonic landscape, with claws of rhythmic smoke curling around chiming otherworldly xylophone, disembodied fiddle drones echoing over screwed 'n chopped beatbox dirt and half-heard magical vocals buried under clouds of white noise.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Murking Shadows 3:17 Buy

    Murking Shadows

  2. 2 Ecto Green Code 1:25 Buy

    Ecto Green Code

  3. 3 The Preyers Forest 3:21 Buy

    The Preyers Forest

  4. 4 Scream Dreamer 3:51 Buy

    Scream Dreamer

  5. 5 Red Swines 2:05 Buy
  6. 6 Crate Creature 1:05 Buy

    Crate Creature

  7. 7 Carpenters Cabin 3:06 Buy

    Carpenters Cabin

  8. 8 Slime Things Accent 3:25 Buy

    Slime Things Accent

  9. 9 Wasp Faced Invasion 1:38 Buy

    Wasp Faced Invasion

  10. 10 Metal Mans Revolt 1:57 Buy

    Metal Mans Revolt

  11. 11 On Her Way 4:00 Buy
  12. 12 Gremlin Gurgle 1:53 Buy

    Gremlin Gurgle

  13. 13 Shadow Swamps 1:57 Buy
  14. 14 Escape - The Sunrise 1:58 Buy

    Escape - The Sunrise

Metal Preyers

Nyege Nyege Tapes

View More

Experimental and Noise

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences