Item added to your cart.

Jon Natchez
Luzzu [official soundtrack]
Phantom Limb
Catalogue Number
Release Date
May 6, 2022

Pre-order Information

Please note that pre-order release dates are estimates based on the latest information we have from our suppliers. Changes or delays are possible.


Press Release

LA composer and musician Jon Natchez (The War On Drugs, Beirut, David Byrne, St. Vincent) scores stunning, award-winning Maltese independent movie Luzzu for Phantom Limb’s Geist im Kino soundtrack imprint.

Maltese screenwriter and director Alex Camilleri’s glorious Luzzu sits at 100% on Rotten Tomatoes. “All submerged,” writes Carlos Aguilar for the Los Angeles Times, “in Jon Natchez’s enrapturing score.” Composed for strings, flutes, clarinets, brass, synthesiser and the masterful harp of acclaimed artist Mary Lattimore, Natchez’s work for Luzzu celebrates, reflects, and glues together the gritty, loving agony of Camilleri’s staggering directorial debut.

The film tells the story of a young fisherman struggling, under the scorching Maltese sun, with the sea’s diminishing returns, with his newborn son’s illness, with his partner’s judgemental family, and with the slow death of a tradition that his family has practised for generations. As money worries tighten their grip, Jesmark - magnificently portrayed by undiscovered nonprofessional actor Jesmark Scicluna - finds himself caught between morality and tradition, survival and responsibility. Camilleri’s screenwriting is challenging and potent, his portrait of rural Malta alive with vibrancy and colour.

Jon Natchez’s soundtrack expertly interweaves these themes. Barely-whispered woodwind chords light up dusty trails of synthesis. Propulsive percussive layers chatter with heady Mediterranean clamour. Mary Lattimore’s harp peeks out from clouds of sunwashed strings. In one profoundly stirring scene, the local priest wordlessly blesses the multitude of tiny, solo fishing vessels (the luzzu of the movie’s title) heading out for the day’s catch, guarding them against the tempers of the sea as he rows from one boat the next. Natchez makes the sequence both intense and tender with gently flowering Baroquish melodies.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Not Even God Will Stop It Jon Natchez featuring Mary Lattimore 0:59 Buy

    Not Even God Will Stop It

  2. 2 The Care He Needs Jon Natchez 1:33 Buy

    The Care He Needs

  3. 3 Knock Him Into The Sea Jon Natchez 1:29 Buy

    Knock Him Into The Sea

  4. 4 Need Any Jon Natchez 1:30 Buy
  5. 5 Fill Their Nets Jon Natchez featuring Mary Lattimore 1:19 Buy

    Fill Their Nets

  6. 6 Scraping Off Jon Natchez 1:32 Buy
  7. 7 The Foreign Chill Jon Natchez featuring Mary Lattimore 2:30 Buy

    The Foreign Chill

  8. 8 Give Me The Rope Jon Natchez featuring Mary Lattimore 2:30 Buy

    Give Me The Rope

  9. 9 Afternoon Nap Jon Natchez featuring Mary Lattimore 1:17 Buy
  10. 10 Like The Other One Jon Natchez featuring Mary Lattimore 1:11 Buy

    Like The Other One

Show All Tracks 19

Track List

  1. A1. Not Even God Will Stop It
  2. A2. The Care He Needs
  3. A3. Knock Him Into The Sea
  4. A4. Need Any
  5. A5. Fill Their Nets
  6. A6. Scraping Off
  7. A7. The Foreign Chill
  8. A8. Give Me The Rope
  9. A9. Afternoon Nap
  10. A10. Like The Other One
  11. A11. Happy?
  12. B1. Once There Was A Boat
  13. B2. End Credits
  14. B3. That's The Normal Kind
  15. B4. This New Hawker
  16. B5. All I've Got
  17. B6. The Swordfish
  18. B7. A Good Bit of Work
  19. B8. Nothing's Biting Today

Jon Natchez

Phantom Limb

View More


View More

Ambient and Modern Classical

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences