Item added to your cart.

Pneumatic Tubes
A Letter From TreeTops
Ghost Box
Catalogue Number
Release Date
February 25, 2022

Instant WAV / FLAC download with all Vinyl / CD purchases.


Jesse Chandler’s debut as Pneumatic Tubes harnesses nostalgia so vividly, produced in an attic amongst home movies and family relics for a few decades.

The Midlake multi-instrumentalist approached A Letter from TreeTops like sifting through family keepsakes and photo albums. In the wake of his father’s passing, Chandler retreated to his childhood home in Woodstock to unpack memories from a bucolic upbringing in Upstate New York. He left days later with the basic framework for an album, enlisting the help of Midlake’s Paul Alexander and singer/songwriter Marissa Nadler among other friends for its finishing touches.

TreeTops, which takes its name from a beloved camp attended by several generations of the Chandler clan, gorgeously evokes snapshots of blissful summers sans any mothball aroma. ‘Summer’s Children’ introduces the album’s retro gaze with a slow waltz, lead leisurely along by Chandler’s flute and clarinet. Considering his woodwinds are the pneumatic tubes he named the project after, Chandler lets them guide the album in a gauzy looseness that lands somewhere between ambient modern composition and ornate folk of the ‘60s. Thankfully, TreeTops doesn’t become complacent within its wistful bubble, allowing a few psychedelic zone outs (‘Camp Sunfrost’, ‘The Big Deep’) and an elegiac second half that peaks with Nadler’s ethereal vocals on ‘Witch Water.’

A Letter from TreeTops makes a welcome addition to the synthesised new age revival happening alongside Green-House and Joseph Shabason’s latest works, but more than that, Chandler’s debut is a loving immortalisation of yellowing family photo books and summers past that you didn’t need to be present for to be moved by.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Summer's Children 1:51 Buy

    Summer's Children

  2. 2 Joyous Lake 5:01 Buy
  3. 3 TreeTops 2:22 Buy
  4. 4 The Big Deep 3:46 Buy
  5. 5 Mumbly-Peg 5:08 Buy
  6. 6 Slow Fawns 5:36 Buy
  7. 7 Camp Sunfrost 5:11 Buy
  8. 8 Overlook Mountain House 5:09 Buy

    Overlook Mountain House

  9. 9 Saw Teeth 4:01 Buy
  10. 10 Witch Water 3:10 Buy
  11. 11 Magic Meadow 2:37 Buy
  12. 12 Summer's End 1:47 Buy

Track List

  1. Summer's Children
  2. Joyous Lake
  3. TreeTops
  4. The Big Deep
  5. Mumbly-Peg
  6. Slow Fawns
  7. Camp Sunfrost
  8. Overlook Mountain House
  9. Saw Teeth
  10. Witch Water
  11. Magic Meadow
  12. Summer's End

Ghost Box

View More

Alternative / Indie / Post-rock

View More

Limited Editions

View More

Album of the Week

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences