Item added to your cart.

Black Milk
Album of the Year
Fat Beats Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
September 30, 2010


The Album of the Year... quite a cocky statement, even for the usual hip-hop bravado that comes as a standard pre-requisite for any self-respecting rapper.

In the world of hip-hop, this probably is 2010's Album of the Year. Both as a rapper and a producer, very few people today are finely balancing the necessity to stay "true" to the golden age of hip-hop whilst still moving the sound forward. Hailing from Detroit, the references to J Dilla are to be expected but with this (his fourth full length release), Curtis Cross is definitely defining his own sound.

Using Mr Milk's trusty MPC200XL as the backbone, this album is intricately ornate with the help of a small army of studio musicians. The large horn sections, and lush strings sit comfortably on the hard live drumming. The best hip-hop release for a long time...

Track List

  1. 365
  2. Welcome (Gotta Go)
  3. Keep Going
  4. Oh Girl (featuring AB)
  5. Deadly Medley (featuring Royce da 5'9" & Elzhi)
  6. Distortion featuring Melanie Rutherford)
  7. Over Again (featuring Monica Blaire)
  8. Round of Applause
  9. Black and Brown (featuring Danny Brown)
  10. Warning (Keep Bouncing)
  11. Gospel Psychedelic Rock (featuring Melanie Rutherford & AB)[13]
  12. Closed Chapter (featuring Mr. Porter)
  1. 1 Welcome (gotta go) 3:34
  2. 2 Black & Brown 5:13
  3. 3 Warning (keep bouncing) 3:16

Black Milk

Fat Beats Records

View More

Hip Hop

View More

Limited Editions

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences