Item added to your cart.

Rudimentary Peni
Death Church
Sealed Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
January 21, 2022

Pre-order Information

Please note that pre-order release dates are estimates based on the latest information we have from our suppliers. Changes or delays are possible.

Press Release

The words legendary, seminal, and classic get thrown around at will these days, but Rudimentary Peni’s debut album is all of them. Recorded over two days at Southern Studios by John Loder and originally released in 1983 by CRASS off-shoot label Corpus Christi, “Death Church” showed a band moving away from the urgency of their two early 7”s and into their own realm. Creating a template that bands have been trying to replicate ever since, while ticking all the boxes to become a genre-defining album. Iconic artwork, a unique sound and their own lyrical universe. All merging seamlessly. Sonically the album is full of Nick Blinko’s extraordinary vocals and equally remarkable guitar, Grant Matthews’ big meandering driving basslines and Jon Greville's tight and relentless drum work which together made something intricate and hard hitting, with a sequence that makes the 21 songs on the album flow perfectly. Visually, the album is every outsider art lover’s wet dream. A six-panel poster sleeve with every inch covered in Nick Blinko’s claustrophobic black and white line drawings, while lyrically the songs deal with madness, religion, death, and questioning humankind from a dark poetic place rarely found in any art form. Remastered from the original master tapes by Arthur Rizk and housed in a replica poster sleeve, including the original insert, “Death Church” is back in print in LP, CD and cassette after nearly a decade of no official reissues.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 ¼ Dead 1:27 Buy
  2. 2 Blissful Myth 1:48 Buy
  3. 3 The Psycho Squat 0:26 Buy

    The Psycho Squat

  4. 4 Rotten To The Core 3:26 Buy

    Rotten To The Core

  5. 5 Poppycock 0:34 Buy
  6. 6 Cosmic Hearse 0:38 Buy
  7. 7 The Cloud Song 2:36 Buy

    The Cloud Song

  8. 8 Vampire State Building 1:06 Buy

    Vampire State Building

  9. 9 Blasphemy Squad 1:16 Buy

    Blasphemy Squad

  10. 10 When You Are A Martian Church 1:11 Buy

    When You Are A Martian Church

Show All Tracks 21

Sealed Records

Limited Editions

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences